Classic Cherries Jubilee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Delicious & easy to make. I didn't have any cherry extract on hand, so I followed a previous reviewer's advice & substituted with almond extract. Unfortunately we lit the pan outside, and couldn't see the blue flame because it was too bright out. We could hear the flame interestingly enough & feel the heat, so we knew it worked. My advice would be to light the flame in a darker setting so you can enjoy the display. We'll do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Makes great pie filling! I had a bunch of fresh cherries to use up, and almost all the recepies I was interested in needed pie filling. I came across this and thought - 2 desserts in one! Sometimes cherry pie filling is just too "cherry". I like rich flavor that comes from the addition of orange and brandy. Plus I used almond extract instead of cherry extract. We ate 2 servings of it right away as Cherries Jubilee, and saved the left overs for Cherry Crisp the next day. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Excellent and I made a few substitions. I used 1/2 teas Brandy extract and 1/2 teas vanilla extract instead of the brand and cherry extract. Whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
We had so many fresh cherries to use up that I made half batches of this recipe three nights in a row! The first night, I had no flames at all. The second night, they became slightly visible. The third night, they were huge like others described! I had to change a few things to get it to happen. First, I heated the brandy for 15 seconds in the microwave right before attempting to light it. Second, I didn't remove the pan from the heat until I had already lit the brandy. I was following the directions and removing from heat but not getting flames. I think part of the reason is that the temperature of the pan was going too cool right as I was trying to light. I will make this again and again now that I got the flames! I also omitted the orange zest and subbed almond extract for cherry; it was still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Wow, I feel like a world class chef! This was easy and delicious and my guests were amazed! I made just two changes, I left out the water and subbed cherry juice from the can and I forgot the cherry extract and it still turned out beautiful. I almost messed it up by stirring in the brandy, but my husband stopped me in time and instead I just poured it over the top and then lit it with a long match (I was so worried that it wouldn't light up) blue flames sprouted and when they started to go out I tipped the pan a little to keep them going as long as possible. Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This is one of our favorite recipes for entertaining. Nearly always use the cherry juice rather than water and sometimes, when out of brandy, have subtituted a Portuguese almond liqueur. Whichever way it is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This is a delicious dessert with the added drama of the flambe. I had some cherries in the fridge and didn't know what to do with them and decided to give this a try. Most of the ingredients I had on hand except for the cherry extract. I couldn't find that at my grocery store so I used almond extract instead. The flambe effect was a big hit, and it tasted delicious over vanilla ice cream. I'll be making this again when I have a dinner party for the presentation alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiecutter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This decadent treat makes an ideal ending to an elegant meal, and it is so simple to prepare. I accidentally put all of the ingredients in the pan at once with the exception of the brandy, and it still turned out like a dream. Between the garnet red glow of the cherries and the exotic blue flames, it was as visually stunning as it was tasty. I made it with frozen dark sweet cherries, added some extra brandy, and did not use any cherry extract. This is a grown-up delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Ok...I hate cherries, but my husband and daughter love them, so I made them this for Valentine's Day. I chose this recipe because it uses fresh cherries and my husband and daughter said it was so great tasting that they thought this would make the best cherry pie filling ever. I plan to make one later. I had to make substitutions because I couldn't find cherry extract and the good brandy I thought I had was gone. I used a little juice from a jar of maraschino cherries in with the orange juice to try to intensify the cherry flavor, and also added a little almond extract, just incase it didn't boost it enough.The only liquor I had that I thought could take the place of the brandy was Grand Marnier, but since it is orange flavored I left out the orange zest so as not to make the orange flavor over power the cherry flavor. My husband dimmed the lights so they could see the beautiful bright blue flames jump all over the cherries. I served it over home made vanilla ice cream in those cute little beaded, footed dessert cups. ( I wish I had taken a photo to upload) I made the ice cream in advance and put it in the freezer for about 6 hours so it wouldn't be too soft and could stay solid for awhile under the warm cherries. To top it off I had coated some toasted almonds and organic raisins with bitter sweet Ghiradeli chocolate. I served them on a little beaded plate and they sprinkled them on after the cherries. Though I hate cherries, I tasted the jubilee and even I loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Try this with Breyer's new dark chocolate ice cream instead of vanille, OMG it is truly to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Classic Wine Pairings

Discover wine and food matchups made in heaven.

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States