Classic Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This is a FANTASTIC recipe. Everyone loved them! I did change just a few things, I made these steaming them first and I have also made these without par cooking first (which I will do from now on), both were fabulous. A also added a little cinnamon and nutmeg to them just to give them that classic "Holiday" flavor. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing. My mother-in-law said they were even better than hers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mld685

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
These were good. They needed more than half an hour to get soft by steamin, but when I baked them they became like a cassorole, which was fine. Cut the water to 1/4 of a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This is good, but my grandmother used a recipe that is so easy...get a lge can of yams, slice thin lengthwise and place close together on cookie sheet. Top with a generous sprinkling of drk brn sugar and sliced butter pats. put in 400F oven until juice is thick bubbles. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmyra, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
We always make this kind of candy potato but never had a recipe to follow so it candy sauce comes out different. Now we make it this way and they are always excellent. I only use a 1/4 cup of water though. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
Too easy, and sinfully good. Loved the ease of this recipe, came out delicious. Will be my standby sweet potato recipe from now on, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
This was an excellent recipe - even when made for 24 people! My father was especially pleased there was a lot of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
This is one of the best sweet potato recipes i've tried...add a sprinkle of cinnamon and it's divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Easy and tasty but nothing unique. I added a teaspoon of vanilla and, of course, marshmallows. This recipe works well when you are pressed on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
This is the easiest recipe and the potatoes taste great! All the ingredients are already in the pantry. Because they are still in chunks, the sweetness is not overpowering (I cut them into 2" chunks instead of 1/2" slices)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
Very simple and easy recipe, which came out great. During the last 5 minutes of baking, I removed the lid and sprinkled mini marshmallows on top and let them brown. The next time I make this, I might cut down on the sugar a bit also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States