Classic Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Delicious! Substituted sliced canned sweet potatoes (drained), and added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. After baking potatoes for about 1/2 hour I topped with marshmallows and returned to oven to brown. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is a wonderful simple recipe. I have been making it for 40 years. I have tried different variations w/marshmallows, pecans etc & my family won't have it. They want the plain & simple way. They love it The only differance is that I do not bake it in the oven I put the water, butter & brown sugar in a skillet and bring it to a bubbly stage and put the cut up sweet potatoes in it & keep turning them. It's great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryJaneS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northlake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Neillsville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I prepared this dish for a host of friends and family over the holiday. Guess how many new besties I have now? Lots! It was a yummy down home sucess. I highly recommend this recipe for its easy preparation and tasty goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Made this last minute for thanksgiving. Only used 1/4 cup of water & put marshmallows on top. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megan's nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Austell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Yet again another success for our Thanksgiving Meal. The family always raves about how wonderful these potatoes are!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Thanks for providing the perfect measurements in recreating this CLASSIC candied sweet potato recipe! Now I'm able to consistently bring the same dish that my grandmother brought to the table every year... and even better! My son's and daughter in laws are embracing this dish as the traditional standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOsan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Substitute ginger ale for the water. Delish !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Great recipe! I changed it a bit. I used canned sweet potatoes and cooked them in a frying pan. I also added a little cream instead of water which made the sauce thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridley Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cochranville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Absolutely classic candied sweet potatoes. Not overly sweet and a beautiful golden brown color when finished cooking. The only thing to mention is that I prefer a somewhat solid but well cooked potato so I under cook them before baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Trevor, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I made smaller recipe for just 2. Peeled and sliced sweet spuds after baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States