Cinnamon-Roasted Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I thought these would be really great after reading all the rave reviews. However, I found the first batch I tried to smell really great while baking but just tasting a little bland. I agree with some previous posts that added a lot more to it. I don't know why they gave such a high rating when they had to add so much to make it taste better. To my second batch, I added a tsp. vanilla to the eggs. I also added 1/2 c. brown sugar for that maple flavor, used a whole tsp of cinnamon and added 1/3 cup of cooled melted butter. It tasted a whole lot better and was gobbled up and gone in minutes. Everyone only picked at the first recipe and they went to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
915 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Excellent reviewer tips on this recipe - a bit of tweeking for a perfect end result. The changes made: substitute 1tsp. vanilla for the water, add 1/2 cup of brown sugar to dry ingredients, increase the cinnamon to 1tsp. used 1/2 cup of Splenda for the white sugar ingredient (because I have to watch my sugar intake; worked great with the sugar substitute),used a 16oz. pkg. of almonds for this recipe to ensure good coating. If using more nuts, increase the coating ingredients. Cooked my batch on a cookie sheet with parchment paper (easy cleanup) at 250 degrees for 1hr.15mins. stirring every 20 mins or so. Good stuff! This goes into my Gift Giving recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
549 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Addictive! I tweaked this recipe only a little. To increase flavor I reduced nuts to 3 cups but kept coating ingredients the same. Be sure to wisk the egg white until it is VERY foamy. Baking an extra 30 minutes increased the crunchiness! It's important to use the correct size baking sheet for the amount of almonds - nuts should be single layer and just fill the pan - an old dark pan works best and I don't bother to spray it - I scrape up the extra sugar at end and throw it in with the nuts. After the first hour stir every 15 minutes and continue baking until the coating is dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
516 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe! I have been making roasted almonds for a few years at X-mas time for my sisters who absolutely adore them, but I have never really liked them much. This year I decided to tweak the recipe a bit, and I am very, very happy with the results, SUPER! For one thing, I took into consideration other reviews and double the coating. Secondly, I comined the sugar and water and placed them over a double broiler (low heat), as I never liked the grainy feel of the roasted nuts that I have made in the past. After the sugar was almost completely dissolved, I removed it from the double broiler and added 4x the cinnamon, and 2x the salt and 1 tsp of almond extract. After combining and baking per the recipe, I was astounded by how good these are. My sisters, who loved the roasted nuts I made before, say that there is absolutely no comparison to these. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
We're NOT worthy We're not worthy... AAHHH went to get this recipe for a co-worker (made them for holidays and have been "advised" to make them again) and started to salivate thinking of them! Also added 1/2 cup brown sugar & vanilla to egg white on second batch really did make them perfect! I also am a firm believer in easy and Reynolds non stick foil is perfect in this recipe! no mess and the nuts come off with ease after drying and hardening(YUM!) oddly enough I was looking for a recipe initially that was like the mall nuts--but found I LOVED this on pecans even better--thought maybe peanuts would be good--no dont try it not good on peanuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
A hit! We made 4 batches of these fabulous nuts right before Christmas. We gave part of them away as gifts, and ate way too many standing in the kitchen. They are very easy, and very tasty. I did make double the amount of coating so that the nuts would be totally covered, and used a bit of extra cinnamon. A word of caution- they really stick to the baking sheet, so give it a spray of Pam, or use a nonstick pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
Wow, these are great! I added about 1/2 tsp. of vanilla to the egg white. If you are using salted nuts, omit the salt. I also made a separate batch for my folks using Splenda since they are low carb-ing. The Splenda batch was drier, so double the cinnamon / Splenda mixture for a heavier coating. They loved them. Also, I would strongly advise using PARCHMENT PAPER on the bottom of the pan (secure it with some spray oil) to make stirring & clean-up a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
I used 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 cup brown sugar & 1 tsp vanilla. These are sooo good & sooo much easier to make than my old recipe. Thanks BJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Excellent, everyone says they are very moorish! but, like others did I followed the recipe but also added a half cup of brown sugar,used 1/2 tsp of salt as my almonds were unsalted (salt brings out the flavour in everything without having to taste salty) and 1 tsp vanilla and 2 tsp cinnamon! other that than that I follwed the recipe to a T!!! many thanks, I won't need to try another recipe as this one is perfect. I can't rate original recipe but with my changes it was deffinately a 5, I may add some maple syrup to the egg and vanilla next time too and use pecans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
These taste just like the ones from the stand at the mall. And they charge $3.25 for an individual serving of them. Much cheaper to make at home and they taste exactly the same. One tip though, they are very sticky. I baked them on parchment paper. Also I used 1 tsp. cinnamon and also added a dash of vanilla. My husband and I ate the whole first batch ourselves. Can't wait to make more for my Christmas party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 504) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

How to Blanch Almonds

See a money-saving method for blanching almonds.

All about Almonds

Discover all you can do with healthy, delicious almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States