Churros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I tried it the first time 'as is,' which I believe is necessary when reviewing a recipe. They were fine but browned too fast and were chewy. Based on that and other people's reviews, I made the following adjustments: a) only 1 tbl of sugar in the dough (cuts the browning); b) only 1 tbl of oil in the dough (cuts the chewiness). It should be noted that you only need to mix dry with wet for 30 sec. I also used a churreria, which ensures the right thickness and was brilliant. Made these finger sized with only 5 in the pan at a time - putting too many in the pan lowers the temp of the oil & will cause you to cook them long after they're brown or remove them while still raw. Take them out to drain, put the next batch in the fryer and shake the cooling (now warm not hot) ones in a paper bag with the sugar and cinnamon; a second person is not needed. I would recommend doubling the recipe for anyone wanting to serve more than 2-3 people without having to double the sugar/cinnamon coating. Halve the sugar/cinna mix if only making one batch. Real churros in Spain are not light and fluffy; they're like this. All in all, a good recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1529 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Easy recipe Delia! My husband thought it was difficult to make. Did not have a pastry bag, so I used a ziploc bag instead to pipe into oil. I had no problems at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
946 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
These were GREAT! I should have doubled the recipe because it turned out they were not enough, hehe. Make sure you fry them till they are a golden brown, they don't come out as chewy. I used my Pampered Chef Easy Accent Decorator with the largest flower tip attachment, they were thin but they were so yummy and cute! Also, if you don't mess with them until they are ready to be turned, they shouldn't fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
639 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I have not tried this yet but in Brazil where I am from we add a caramel filling to this. To do that just make a whole in the center with a bamboo skier and pipe caramel. To make autentic 'dulce de leche, cook an unopened can of condensed milk in boiling water fot 90 to 120 minutes. Let it cool before using it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
These are splendid. I used a pastry bag but beware, the dough is hot and my bag split in the middle of squeezing them in the hot greese. An electric skillit / fryer would be best to keep a constant temp. I hand rolled some but they were not nearly as good as the ones I used with the pastry bag. I used a wilton #25 but need one a bit bigger. You must work quickly as the dough will go cement quickly. Also be sure to wash up your bowl and dough tools ASAP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
These are very good, but just remember to pipe them very thin or you'll end up with raw insides and burned outside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claire03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
These churros were so delicious, they taste better then what we used to get as kids when we spent the day at Olvera Street in LA... and I always thought those were the best. These were perfect! Crispy on the outside and moist on the inside. I'm going to use this recipe all the time, thanks for the great recipe I was so very pleasantly suprised, it's a very simple recipe but it's results are so great and authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Very easy recipe and outcome was excellent! Very authentic! Tip: Fry dough ASAP to avoid gooey mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
This was a really good recipe. My kids loved them. You can't handle too much and needs to be used asap or it will break apart while frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
These were pretty good except they were much tougher than churros I've bought. I didn't overmix but they ended up chewy. I also had to make sure I didn't make them too thick because my first batch wasn't cooked all the way through. My kids liked them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States