Churros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Very yummy and very easy to make. I used a candy thermometer to get the temp of the oil just right. Use a cloth pastry bag or the plastic ones will be burst. Double the recipe cuz they will be gone in no time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
The dough was super tough to squeeze through the pastry bag. Maybe I didn't do something right? Anyways, they turned out perfectly! I piped the dough into strips on a plate first, then put the strips into the hot oil 3 at a time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khrysten1988

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I regret making these...We ate them all, before they even made it to the table. Wow, they were crazy delicious! We rolled some by hand in ball shape, thick tube, thin tube, squeezed some through a pipe really really thin. My favorite (and what came out best with crunchy outside, light soft inside) was the thin hand rolled ones and the thicker tube piped ones. It took a couple tries to figure out what shade of light brown was best. But every last one of these was totally awesome! Will be saving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I have hidden this recipe for quite some time because I was scared to make these. OMG!!! These were so easy to make and my kids and husband chewed them up! I used all of Cat's modifications. 1 Tbsp. of oil and 1 Tbsp of sugar for the dough instead of the original measurements. Also, I did not have a pastry bag but a Pampered Chef cookie dough press. It has a tip on it that made the churros look like real churros with the cool ridges. I only made one batch and these suckers were gone in five minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by God's Child
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
These churros ( made with the lower sugar and lower oil as per the suggestions) were perfect...just like I remember them in Spain. I tend to like the oil temperature a bit higher than 375 to get them a bit crisper. Too low a temperature makes them heavy and oily. I prefer them unsugared with chocolate (melted chocolate and whipping cream was the closest I could get to what they serve in Spain). Made them small for a tasting party for my daughter's grade 2 class. They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Yum! These tasted just like the ones I remember having growing up at the old Mexican restaurant that was in my hometown. I made as is - the dough was much too thick to be piped thru my star tip for the pastry bag, so I just took it off and used the bag with no tip, which yielded Churros that look like cheese poofs...but that's OK, they still tasted amazing. My only problem was that they never got to the golden brown color. They cooked enough and were done in the middle. I believe that because I deep fried them over an induction cooktop that the oil was heated very evenly and prevented the browning or burning. I'll definitely make these again. My kids ate them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Made them for the first time and I could not keep my daughter from stealing them! I used a cookie press, but they did not come out straight..I next time I will pipe it to an icing tool (as one other person suggested)...but my little churro "J"s still tasted really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This is a great, easy recipe for churros. We make them for a Cinco de Mayo party every year and instead of making them long we make them about 1 1/2" bite size pieces. That way everyone gets some to enjoy. Serve them with melted chocolate...Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marilla, New York, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Delicious and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Am I missing something or is the recipe? I made these last night and they are tough . I think that the recipe is missing the 3 eggs that need to be stirred into the ball. After making these and then trying a second batch, there was NO WAY I could pipe them through a pastry tube. Too thick. I am going to try again with the three eggs. I checked with other recipes and sure enough , they all had eggs in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Elephant Ears

Watch how to make Elephant Ears, a fair food favorite.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States