Churros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I tried this recipe for a snack in my Spanish class. I was very happy about the results. However, instead of piping them into a deep fryer (like the recipe stated) I rolled them out and then dunked them in. Either way, it worked! My whole class loved it and so did I. Also, I would recommend keeping them in the deep fryer for 2 minutes so that it will cook on the inside as well as the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
These Churros are so good i could eat them all! They taste just like something from an amazing bakery or something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecookandbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I'm glad I didn't double the batch or I would have eaten 2 batches! Very good! I did the recipe exactly as stated. I did use a gallon sized, plastic, twist tie bag to squeeze them out. Next time I'll try cutting the hole smaller, maybe where they are only about .5"-.75" in diameter. Mine were way too big the first time, but still very good. I heated the oil before mixing the batter so that it was ready. I had no problems with the batter being too hot or splitting my bag. Also, I put my sugar and cinnamon in a paper sack and took the Churros straight from the frying pan and into the paper sack and shook them up. Then set them on a plate to cool. If your grease is not hot enough, they will fall apart. I checked my grease constantly and kept it closer to 350F. Yummy! I think I'll make a thinner version in the morning! Update: I made the smaller version (.5-.75") and I doubled the batch and I had every problem that everyone else had. My bag split, my churros fell apart in the fryer.... So, next time I'll make the big fat ones again. (about 1.5" in diameter). Also I won't put a double batch in the bag. I think between the double batch and the smaller hole, there was too much heat and pressure for the bag to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Perfect and easy! The recipe is very clearly written and works like a charm. I didn't want to get out the piping bag so I just made thin little pancake shapes and they fried up wonderfully. If you do this, make sure they are thin or the middles don't cook through (they were tasty anyway and there's nothing in them that makes the raw dough dangerous). People who had trouble with them browning too quickly: your oil is too hot. It's not the recipe's fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Super easy, super delicious! I used a pastry bag with a 1/2" tip. The first batch were perfect, but as my oil cooled down, they got crunchier. I would recommend making a few, then letting your oil heat back up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsie Newby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by patricia
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Simple to make even though it was my first time. I did have to add a little more water to my dough because it was too dry. Other than that, they were really good. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
First time making Churros! so EZ!! and so YUM!!! very successful! I can share with my frns proudly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soyeon Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by peggycuriel
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
These are amazing!! I'm from Mexico and these taste just like the ones back home!! I make these every now and then but I never have leftovers!! So glad I could find a homemade recipe instead of buying churro mix. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
My family (and I) absolutely LOVED these! My brother made them first but they did not come out to good.I tried my hand at them and (I don't mean to brag) they came out much better. I made a double batch the other day, and learned that I need to triple the recipe. I do not like to us pastry bags so instead I roll them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
churros are a recipe from Spain, not mexico.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States