Christmas Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I did not have 6 inch round cake pans, so I doubled the recipe and split it between two regular size loaf pans (8.5 x 4).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This is the best fruit cake ever! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banga108

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I'm not personally a fan of fruitcake, but my parents are and I made this cake for them and it was eaten in about ten minutes between the two of them. So, I've started making them now for Christmas gifts. They're very excited!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Well, I did not try to make it yet but I definately going to make it. Sounds right. First I try Fruit Cake when I was living in South Africa, they make it in DELY of all groceries, I loved it and was buying the cake every week to enjoy it during my working week. Then I relocated to the US, Florida, and was surprised by seeing the Fruit cake in Publix... Then I've surprised again because I just throw the cake away. It was so bad with all these fake fruits and sickly sweet. Never will buy it again. But I still like the cake I used to buy in South Africa and start looking for recepies online. Thank you, Karen. I am going to make it and will back to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This is so yummy I can't believe it. My family doesn't like fruit cake and when they heard that I was making some for Christmas they weren't too pleased. Not listening to them I decided to try this fruitcake, the only change I did was I used brandy instead of rum, and it was amazing. Everyone loved it and couldn't believe that fruitcake could be so yummy. This is going to be my one and only fruitcake recipe.... yum yum....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rasberri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Thanks Karen for sharing this fantastic recipe. All my friends and I ( ofcourse) could not stop eating it....yum yum..... The only change I made was I used corn syrup instead of molasses and dismissed the candied citron. Thanks again! I will make it again for next year Xmas and will double the amount :-). Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This flavorful cake will be a marvelous edition to my Christmas baking from here on out. It was WELL RECEIVED by everyone who sampled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This is only the third year I've made fruitcake, and this is the first time I've used this recipe. It's different than the one I've used the past 2 years; it's seems a little less heavy, for starters. I substituted apricots for the mango, golden raisins for the currents (couldn't find either of the those ingredients). I omitted the citron since I couldn't find it in the store, but I added the zest of one orange. I used spiced rum--it tastes better to me. Of course, I won't know for a couple months how this tastes, but it looked good coming out of the oven, smelled great, and the little bit I snuck off the top tasted pretty good! Give it awhile to blend flavors, YUM! Can't wait! Glad I doubled the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYDANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Tastes just like the fruit cake from Assumption Abbey that William Sonoma used to sell. I would put more liquor in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
No store-bought fruitcake can compare to this! I made enough to give as gifts, and now it's all anyone wants from me! Even people who "hated" fruitcake loved this recipe, and I'm planning on making it again this year, times 8 or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States