Christmas Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Wait 7 weeks?? What? Not in my house! It was GONE the next day! To be fair, I had some left over rum soaked dried fruits already ready to go. I used coconut oil and maple syrup/molasses mix, no brown sugar. I had to add a bit more flour (not much at all) and Voila! I am making another batch this morning and it will be gone by tonight! Christmas in Spring!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
WOW this is the best ever....I double the recipe and just tried the 1st one and all I can say is this is the BEST- I can't wait to try the other 2 - one in June and the other in August..... Making more for gifts....YES it is that GOOD :-) now I am going to kitchen to make more so I have plenty to give as gifts for my rum loving friends :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Nice recipe but still too moist after 45 min so added 10. Used Maple syrup instead of molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I made several cakes from this recipe for Christmas. I alloed them to age for 7 weeks. I had a tester that I would slice into each week to evaluate the flavor. I soaked the fruit in rum for a few days and brushed the finished cake with rum before wrapping it tightly in saran wrap and aluminum foil. I did not have to continually brush the cake as others stated. I left them in a very cool room inside o aluminum tins and they remained moist for the entire 7 weeks. Although the cake can stand on it's own, I did make an almond glaze to spread on top of it. I pretty much stuck to the original recipe; I did ground up almonds and added a 2 tbl spoons to the floor mixture. I used slightly less than the amount of molasses ( I had grandma molasses and they are very dark and strong); And I used an array of dried fruit as well as nuts. Thank you for posting this recipe. It will be my goto fruit cake recipe from now on. I have a ton of dried fruit left over and plan on making several cakes and store them for a year just to see how that will affect the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This made the best fruitcake I have ever eaten. Perfect mix of fruits and cake. Complex flavors. Better than the fruitcake my mom made when I was a kid. I am making a double batch next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
My first Xmas cake and it came out great. Just use different fruits. My husband do not like fruit cake and he loves it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This will be the third year in a row my father has asked for a fruitcake and the last recipe I will try as this was the best so far. I doubled the recipe and it made 3 small bread loaf (6X3) pans. The changes I made were mostly associated with the fruit choices and alcohol. We don't drink alcohol so I soaked the fruits in orange juice. I HONESTLY think any fruit will work, so I chose dried apricots, prunes, a few raisins and cut up frozen cherries. Instead of the citron (gross) I simply used grated orange peel and grated lemon peel. I also soaked those in the juice so they would soften. It has cooled down enough to try and it is moist with a nice flavor with the fruit adding a bit of sweetness. I don't plan on letting it sit much longer. We will eat ours and I will store my dad's in the fridge until Christmas next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
i made the fruit cake and it was very good but a little dry should I wrap back in cheese cloth soak with burbon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
OMG. I made this today and even the crumbs were wonderful! Made a double batch which gave me 6 mini loaf pans which took @ 45 minutes. (could be my oven). Only change I made was adding in raisins, plums and dates (all my favs). I'm. Going to make another batch tomorrow with brandy&apple cider infused fruit. Can't wait. Thanks for. a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Delicious!! This coming from a hate fruitcake girl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States