Chocolate-Zucchini Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
These were easy to make, and they turned out really well -- very moist. I was looking for a cupcake recipe that wasn't too sugary (because I worry about all the sugar that kids are fed) for my son's third birthday. I left out the nuts because I wasn't sure if the kids would like them. I added a teaspoon of vanilla just to give the batter a richer taste -- I don't know if it really made a difference or not. I frosted them lightly with a simple buttercream frosting. Delicious! (And the chocolate color hides the presence of the zucchini from picky young ones.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
These cupcakes were great. I received an extremely large zucchini from my brother's garden and decided I needed lots of different recipes to experiment with and this one definitely made the grade. The cupcakes were moist and the chocolate frosting is a great addition. My husband was a little surprised when he bit into one because he thought they were just plain chocolate cupcakes, but he said they were good even with the zucchini added. This will be a great way to get the kids to eat their vegetables. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
These are very good and moist even though I used 1/2cup applesauce for half of the oil.I also replaced the nuts with some mini choc. chips and toffee bits.They don't even need frostening this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Delicious. I didn't frost them and left out the nuts so I could feed it to my baby. The kids loved it and couldn't believe they were eating zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2000
Wow! What a good cake! Everyone around asked for the recipe! It's even good without egg & nuts (removed because of my daughter's allergies). Good idea to use cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
SOOOOO good! Made them for my husband to take to work and they were all gobbled up fast. So wonderful with the addition of the frosting on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
Wonderful recipe. I made this into a two layer cake and frosted it with a fudgy frosting. My family doesn't like zucchini bread and loved this recipe requesting it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
These were really good muffins and a great way to use the zucchini in my garden. I used a buttercream frosting and topped them with baking m&m's. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
I used Ghiardeli Semi-Sweetened chocolate and 'Enova' Cooking oil instead of vegi oil and they turned out a moist, shiny dark golden brown...these looked so delicious I hated to frost them. We tried both Chocolate cream-cheese frosting and regular cream-cheese frosting and both were perfect for a variety. Beating the egg and sugar mixture for the approprite length of time is essential, also. I would reccommend muffin cups for ease in removing from pan to cool. Pull out as soon as done and cool on a rack before frosting. YUM YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
This recipe was great. My six year old and made these cupcakes as a March Break activity. She was not so keen on the zucchini idea but forgot all about it when they came out of the over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States