Chocolate-Zucchini Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Tasty - had zucchini from the garden that needed to be used up... Made these for a bridal shower I was hosting. Didn't have much time, so just used store-bought icing for on top. I usually like chocolate things like this warm from the oven, but I find anything baked with zucchini tastes better the day after. I also didn't have enough chocolate squares, so instead I used 3 tbsp of cocoa (plus an additional tbsp of oil) for each square.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
These were all right day one, much better the second day and actually pretty good when frozen and then thawed. I did increase the chocolate, used half oil and half applesauce and used half whole wheat flour. I would make them again but only with intention of freezing. Much healthier treat for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I made these for my son's 2nd birthday. We really enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Awesome recipe! Just enough flavor of zucchini and walnut to change up a basic chocolate cupcake. Kids and adults loved them alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
with the extra chocolate it is great and with half the oil turned into applesauce it was great. I undercooked a batch (about 16 minutes) and the middle was gooey... bit more like a brownie. I also used half whole wheat flour so they were pretty healthy too!! double bonus! xox
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
4 stars as original, 5 with changes: Doubled the chocolate, but only had semi-sweet baking squares and I should have reduced the sugar. Also, substituted 1/2 applesauce for the oil. Very tasty. The batter was very liquid-y, but after 20 minutes, they were done and look great. Thanks Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I am giving only 4 because I did make two changes - I cut back on the oil by 1/4 c, and I doubled the chocolate. But let me tell you - this was delicious. I mean, so good I literally may never make chocolate cake any other way again. It was moist, had a great texture, an absolutely fabulous flavor, and held up well over the next day or two. The cake didn't last longer than that! Definitely try these - if you look chocolate cake you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzieBearCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna G.
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Wonderful! I was a little worried about using zucchini in chocolate muffin......but they taste great! I made some changes: doubled the chocolate and added a tbsp of unsweetened cocoa powder; didn't put walnuts. Cooking time is perfetct. They are more like muffin, not cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Verona, Veneto , Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
We thought these were pretty good...I did change a few things tho. I used powdered cocoa and followed the directions on the package to make it the equivilent to the chocolate squares, I also tossed in roughly 2 T of milled Flax Seed. My boys will not eat nuts if they can see them so I used my chopper to make the walnuts as small as I could. I also tossed in a package of dark chocolate choco chips. My kids have no clue about the zucchini being in them...and they eat them up every time. I make homemade choco icing (following recipe on the powdered cocoa box) sometimes we ice them, sometimes we don't. They are so moist and delicious! My step father is very picky about desserts....doesn't want to eat anything that is high in fats/sugar/etc. He LOVES THESE! He actually has requested these...he's never requested any desserts from me before! To make him even more happy I tossed in some cranberries at Thanksgiving. :) He loved them! I'm thinking I may add some cinnamon next time we make them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Nothing special. Bland in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jho2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States