Chocolate-Zucchini Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This is a good recipe and a good way to use zucchini's. Most people just say 'what?' when you tell them what it is but then that thought vanishes when they taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
these are almost like my fav recipe except the brown sugar! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Very similar to the Taste-of-Home cupcakes we used to make before we went gluten-free and threw out the recipe. Anyhow, these make great gluten-free cupcakes, with the following modification to the original recipe: Use 2 cups of Carol's sorghum blend (35% sorghum flour, 35% corn or potato starch, and 30% tapioca starch), plus 1 1/2 tsp of guar gum (or 1 tsp xanthan gum). I also went with 1/2 cup applesauce and 1/2 cup oil, and doubled the chocolate, although I actually thought they were TOO chocolaty (this from a chocoholic)... but I think I was used to the taste of home recipe that wasn't very chocolaty. I think with the original amt of chocolate they could pass as "muffins" (sounds healthier) but with the doubled chocolate they are definitely "cupcakes"... actually, they are more like brownies, as my 5-year-old son pointed out. BTW, I also had to increase the baking time considerably (~35 minutes). FYI: I made another gluten-free batch again substituting yellow squash in place of zucchini and 1 1/2 tsp vanilla instead of the chocolate, and all oil instead of my original applesauce substitution. They turned out GREAT. I might have considered putting vanilla frosting on them but the kids gobbled them up anyhow, so I didn't bother. They turned out carrot-cakish, so if I want a carrot cupcake I'll just use this recipe and throw in some carrots too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Yum! My first batch I followed the recipe exactly and loved them. The second batch I used white sugar instead of brown as I was out of brown sugar, and added 1 cup of miniature milk chocolate chips. They were so yummy! I topped them with homemade chocolate butter cream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Just had one. Didn't change anything in the recipe and it was awesome. I topped with a dollop of canned chocolate icing. Terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I'm always confused as to whether I should give a '5' when on the very first try, I make modifications. That being said, I do think this is a great recipe... with a few changes. First, call me crazy, but I'm not a big fan of chocolate zucchini cake, so I left all chocolate components out. Secondly, I cannot wrap my head around using a full cup of oil, so I used 1/2 c. of oil and one 8-oz. can of drained, crushed pineapple. The pineapple makes the cupcakes SO moist and garnered lots and lots of compliments! Furthermore, I added 1 tsp. of cinnamon for a great, spiced kick! Funny enough, I got 24 cupcakes and 2 mini loafs out of this recipe. To take the cupcake up a notch, I covered in cream cheese frosting. It's a keeper in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hbuie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lytle, Texas, USA
Living In: Savannah, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
With a few modifications, this recipe is amazing. Like others, I doubled the unsweetened chocolate. I also sifted in about 4 TB of unsweetened cocoa and the end result was AMAZING. I also added a tsp of vanilla and a cup of mini chocolate chips. I also just threw in all the zucchini that i had shredded with ended up being more like 2 1/2 cups. I did not have any nuts, but was still great without them. The top of the cupcake gets this slight crunch that melts in your mouth. Was delicious warm with the melty chocolate chips. They also do not rise that much so I filled up cups about 3/4 way full and they looked really nice when baked. It does not really need a frosting. However, as a chocaholic, I would do a thinly spread chocolate ganache on top for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
These are great!! I recommend putting in the vanilla. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Smiths Grove, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This is a great recipe and a big hit with the family. I made it as the recipe states and I also doubled the chocolate. Both ways are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This was an easy to follow recipe that yielded yummy, moist and flavorful cupcakes. I'm not sure how much chocolate I used since I had a big block of it but I think it was more than 2 oz. I also did not use any frosting and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States