Chocolate-Zucchini Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I'm always confused as to whether I should give a '5' when on the very first try, I make modifications. That being said, I do think this is a great recipe... with a few changes. First, call me crazy, but I'm not a big fan of chocolate zucchini cake, so I left all chocolate components out. Secondly, I cannot wrap my head around using a full cup of oil, so I used 1/2 c. of oil and one 8-oz. can of drained, crushed pineapple. The pineapple makes the cupcakes SO moist and garnered lots and lots of compliments! Furthermore, I added 1 tsp. of cinnamon for a great, spiced kick! Funny enough, I got 24 cupcakes and 2 mini loafs out of this recipe. To take the cupcake up a notch, I covered in cream cheese frosting. It's a keeper in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hbuie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lytle, Texas, USA
Living In: Savannah, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
With a few modifications, this recipe is amazing. Like others, I doubled the unsweetened chocolate. I also sifted in about 4 TB of unsweetened cocoa and the end result was AMAZING. I also added a tsp of vanilla and a cup of mini chocolate chips. I also just threw in all the zucchini that i had shredded with ended up being more like 2 1/2 cups. I did not have any nuts, but was still great without them. The top of the cupcake gets this slight crunch that melts in your mouth. Was delicious warm with the melty chocolate chips. They also do not rise that much so I filled up cups about 3/4 way full and they looked really nice when baked. It does not really need a frosting. However, as a chocaholic, I would do a thinly spread chocolate ganache on top for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
These are great!! I recommend putting in the vanilla. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Smiths Grove, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This is a great recipe and a big hit with the family. I made it as the recipe states and I also doubled the chocolate. Both ways are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This was an easy to follow recipe that yielded yummy, moist and flavorful cupcakes. I'm not sure how much chocolate I used since I had a big block of it but I think it was more than 2 oz. I also did not use any frosting and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NURSJEN
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
So good and kinda healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NURSJEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I made this for a kindergarden treat. No one suspected the zucchini. I used 3 oz of chocolate and substituted applesauce for 1/2 the oil. I topped them with sifter powdered sugar. A great treat for kids and adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil and whole wheat white flour. Was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mleigh
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Fantastic! My kids had no idea there was zucchinni in them at all! :) As per other reviews, I doubled the chocolate and used 3/4 cup applesauce & 1/4 cup oil. I din't have baking chocolate, so I used cocoa powder (2T unsweetened cocoa powder & 1 T vegetable oil for each chocolate square, and I used whole wheat flour. I will definitely use these again, and would even make them more frequently because it's a treat I can feed my kids that's special, yet more nutritious. I did use chocolate icing with sprinkles, but lightly--just enough to make the sprinkles stick. **update** These are also good without icing on top as just plain chocolate muffins! We now make these about once a month, freezing half for later in the month, and eat them as muffins for snack or desert. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
They were fine but I found them rather average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARA_LUSHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States