Chocolate-Zucchini Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
You cannot taste or notice the zucchini at all. I made these cupcakes according to the recipe but added one oz extra chocolate as other suggested. They are fantastic and super moist. I made a whipped chocolate ganache for the frosting. I used a cupcake scoop and the recipe yeiled about 28 cupcakes that were flat on top. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
These are so perfect and moist - we make them all the time with our zucchini from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina6878

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
So these didn't turn out as well as i would have liked. I made some minor changes...applesause instead of oil, no nuts. Other changes i would recommend if you want to try these would be a dark chocolat frosting, i used milk chocolet and it just wasn't right. And triple the amount of chocolet you put in. I doubled it, and it wasn't enough. I would also use a semisweet chocolat. My family liked them, but there were major changes needed to the rescipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This is probably one of the moistest chocolate cakes I have ever eaten. Even though there seemed like a lot of sugar was going into the recipe, it wasnt to sugary at all. The only thing I changed was to cut oil by 4 TBS and melted my chocolate in 4 TBS of butter. Also for frosting I used 4 oz of melted chocolate and 16oz of cream cheese that was all and it was so delish. Defenitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
These are not a deep, dark chocolate so swapping out the nuts for chocolate chips really made these double-chocolaty special. The zucchini is not apparent, except for the obvious moistness it contributes to the cake. In addition to great flavor and moistness, the top develops a little crust to it, almost like the outside edges of a cookie. I frosted these with "Mocha Frosting," also from this site. I wasn't sold on the nuts, nor did the "package of chocolate frosting" appeal to me. But the combination of the cupcakes, studded with semi-sweet chocolate chips and a milk chocolate frosting, was simply awesome good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
i substituted 2 TB of unsweetened cocoa powder and 1 TB oil for each square of chocolate. I doubled the chocolate and it still didn't taste as chocolately as I like. But I will make again next summer if I have an over abundance of zucchini like I did this year. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This is a nice snack cake. They rose beautifully and looked fabulous topped with a simple cream cheese frosting I had made. I wish it had a little more chocolate flavor, but I will just substitute chocolate chips in place of the walnuts the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This is a great adult cake. I wouldn't make this for a group of kids because the zucchini pieces are very visible when you slice it and they look a little strange. Overall, the cake is not too sweet and is delicious without frosting. I made it exactly as written but at the end, I split the batter into two and added 1/2 tsp vanilla to one. I baked them separately and the one with vanilla had a richer flavor. My kids enjoyed it but I can see where pickier kids will turn away bc of the zucchini. You could always leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
A fantastic recipe. Didn't change a thing and my family and friends love them! Can't ever have enough recipes to use up those zucchinis in the summer. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
These are probably ok as is (hence the 3 stars), but, I figured it needed more chocolate to taste really chocolatey. I added 6oz melted chocolate and 6tbsp cocoa to the batter. These were rich and chocolatey! For the frosting, I made a chocolate ganache (pour 1 cup boiling heavy cream over 8oz chocolate chips. stir til blended. put in fridge for about 45 min to 1 hour til cool and just firm, whip for 2 min). These were really good, moist, and had a nice "crumb"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States