Chocolate-Zucchini Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Cupcakes with a hint of chocolate...The're excellent. I did'nt have walnuts so I added Pecans instead (delicious). I also added chocolate chips to half the batch and that definately hit the spot! No one knew that they had zuccini in them...for those picky eaters: these babies were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amaturecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
These cupcakes are excellent! The only variation I made was I substituted unsweetened apple sauce for the oil and added another square of unsweetened chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hutchlm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
These were just what I was looking for! I substituted cocoa powder, and doubled the chocolate as suggested. So, I used 6 T cocoa powder, and the full cup of oil to make up for not using melted chocolate. I also added a teaspoon vanilla and a half a teaspoon of cinnamon. Yum! I've eaten one plain so far, and it was perfectly moist and had great texture. I plan on topping them with lots of cream cheese frosting, which will probably cancel the healthiness of th zucchini, but will be so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I loved these cupcakes! The rest of my family does too! Like other people, I added 1 tsp vanilla. Will definitly be making these again to help use up all the zucchini I get! These cupcakes definitly need the icing... my mom and I tried them before I put on the icing to see if they really needed it... which they did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AppleEnt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I rated it 5 stars with the modifications. These cupcakes were absolutely delicious, i didn't even ice them (no extra sugar for the kids please :)) I subbed 3/4 applesause and 1/4 oil, subbed whole wheat flour for half the ap flour, and used half a bag (6oz) mini chocolate chips. My kids were begging for more.. they were so good!! Thank you for this delicious and healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Henry Smith made the best call on doubling the chocolate! I also used 3/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup oil, and tossed in a splash of vanilla. These are AMAZING! But the best part? My four year old vegetable hatin' boy won't be hip to the fact that zucchini is in these, because with all that chocolate, you CAN'T SEE IT! Ha! Haven't frosted them and honestly, don't see the need. **Updated** Today, I made these again, and used (instead of oil) 1/2 cup baby food prunes and the rest applesauce), to help out the lil' guy. And, I frosted them with SHINY CHOCOLATE GLAZE for fear that the prune flavor may come through - but it didn't. File this tip away, parents!! You may need a trick up your sleeve in cases like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Incredible! So moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marly
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Quite good but I think they would be better if they were more chocolatey (a la Devil's Food Cake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
These are very yummy!! I used the chocolate buttercream frosting recipe to top them off. I also added chocolate chips to the batter. Definatley quenches the chocolate/sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
These are absolutely delicious! I think, after making these, I actually prefer these to regular chocolate cake, because they are incredibly moist and yummy! I made a few changes: First, I doubled the chocolate in these, to add a richer flavor as some other reviewers mentioned. Second, I used 3/4 C applesauce, and only 1/4 C oil. I am a health nut, and I can't in good conscience use 1 C of oil! The result was perfect, and these are de-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States