Chocolate Zucchini Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Chocolate cake + eating your veggies... win-win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carleigh Belle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Incredibly fudgey and moist! I used 4 extra large eggs, 1 cup of oil and 1 cup of applesauce, chocolate chips instead of nuts, and just 2 1/2 cups of zucchini (although the full cups were jam packed, so it may have been 3 cups loosely filled). I baked it in 2 9" round pans for 35 minutes and iced it with chocolate cream cheese frosting from this site. I told the people I fed it to that there was a secret ingredient and asked them to guess what it was. It took them awhile--they only figured it out when one of them found a little piece of peel. Next time I might peel the zucchini so that they won't end up in the cake, because the rest of the zucchini kind of dissolves so you can't tell it's in there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
AMAZING!!!! The whole family loves this cake. We look forward to zucchini from the garden every year to make this cake. Thank You so much for a wonderful cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
A very good recipe. I tend to add more zucchini which makes it a more pudding like and it sneaks in more veggies for the kids. Our family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Excellent! Didn't change a thing. Received rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carla
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Super easy recipe!! Really good flavor, and super moist! I shared how I've done it in my blog bananapie.com.br.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I added a few tablespoons of flax seed and used whole wheat flour. I also replaced 1//2 cup of oil with applesauce to make it a little healthier. You couldn't tell, they were very moist and delicious. I made them into muffins and added chocolate chips instead of walnuts. My husband and picky 10 year old daughter couldn't get enough of these. Will be making these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I have baked other chocolate zucchini cakes before, and this recipe is not my favorite. There is, in my opinion, wayyyyy too much oil in this recipe. I first made it with the amount it calls for, and I was alarmed by how oily the batter was. So I then began to scoop out as much oil as I could. I probably managed to scoop out about 1/2 a cup. I baked it anyway, even though I thought it was still too oily of a batter. Once baked and cooled and dusted with powder, it was a very greasy cake. However, it was very chocoalty and delicious. (I did add chocolate chips). No one could call this cake dry, that's for sure. It was so moist, that it was almost like eating a pudding. I will use this recipe again, but I will use far less oil. Farrrr less. Next time I will probably stop at only one cup and see how that goes. But flavor-wise, it's a tasty recipe and it's easy to follow. I will try it again and tweak accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This recipe made for some excellent cupcakes! I made them twice; the first time I realized I had far too much batter, so I cut it in half the second time to make eighteen or so cupcakes. I made some of the same changes that other reviewers suggested, including replacing some of the oil with applesauce. Before I added the zucchini, I was afraid the batter would be too thick, but the zucchini brought in loads of moisture! I put in mini chocolate chips instead of walnuts and topped the cupcakes with buttercream frosting or vanilla glaze. I took them to a party and they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
only change I made was to use 1 cup splenda in place of 2 cups sugar and added 1 additional egg. This was delicious & I topped it with the cinnamon coffee icing. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States