Chocolate Zucchini Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Excellent! Didn't change a thing. Received rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carla
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Super easy recipe!! Really good flavor, and super moist! I shared how I've done it in my blog bananapie.com.br.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I added a few tablespoons of flax seed and used whole wheat flour. I also replaced 1//2 cup of oil with applesauce to make it a little healthier. You couldn't tell, they were very moist and delicious. I made them into muffins and added chocolate chips instead of walnuts. My husband and picky 10 year old daughter couldn't get enough of these. Will be making these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I have baked other chocolate zucchini cakes before, and this recipe is not my favorite. There is, in my opinion, wayyyyy too much oil in this recipe. I first made it with the amount it calls for, and I was alarmed by how oily the batter was. So I then began to scoop out as much oil as I could. I probably managed to scoop out about 1/2 a cup. I baked it anyway, even though I thought it was still too oily of a batter. Once baked and cooled and dusted with powder, it was a very greasy cake. However, it was very chocoalty and delicious. (I did add chocolate chips). No one could call this cake dry, that's for sure. It was so moist, that it was almost like eating a pudding. I will use this recipe again, but I will use far less oil. Farrrr less. Next time I will probably stop at only one cup and see how that goes. But flavor-wise, it's a tasty recipe and it's easy to follow. I will try it again and tweak accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This recipe made for some excellent cupcakes! I made them twice; the first time I realized I had far too much batter, so I cut it in half the second time to make eighteen or so cupcakes. I made some of the same changes that other reviewers suggested, including replacing some of the oil with applesauce. Before I added the zucchini, I was afraid the batter would be too thick, but the zucchini brought in loads of moisture! I put in mini chocolate chips instead of walnuts and topped the cupcakes with buttercream frosting or vanilla glaze. I took them to a party and they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
only change I made was to use 1 cup splenda in place of 2 cups sugar and added 1 additional egg. This was delicious & I topped it with the cinnamon coffee icing. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This was delicious! Very moist and chocolaty. Quite addicting! I did, however, replace 1/2 cup of the oil with applesauce and added some chocolate chips in place of the nuts. (I love an extra kick of chocolate.) Next time I'll add a little vanilla to enhance the flavor. But, don't worry about any frosting (it doesn't need it)! Mmmm... I'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
The most amazing chocolate cake ever. You can't taste the zucchini at all, it's just moist and delicious. It's not too sweet either. I added a semi-sweet ganache coating over my bundt cake and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena-licous

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I followed another reviewer and replaced half the oil with applesauce, and reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cup, and used chocolate chips instead of walnuts (to make it kid-friendly). I've made it twice, once in a bundt pan and once in a 9 x 13. Both work great! I also used some dark chocolate cocoa in my second try! The kids liked it better with icing, but devoured it despite knowing it had "yucky zuccini" in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I made this for my daughter's 4th birthday. It was AMAZING!!! I followed another reviewer's advice and used 3/4 C applesauce + 3/4 C oil. Also I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of walnuts since my son is allergic to nuts. This one is sure a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States