Chocolate Zucchini Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This is a moist, chocolately cake and if you make it with shredded zucchini you don't know it's in there. I frosted it with the chocolate frosting recipe listed by another reviewer (the one uses 6T marg. but I use butter and it frosted a 9x13 perfectly). This also baked up in 50 mins for me. I also left out the nuts for personal taste, but I also didn't sub them with chocolate chips like many have stated. Other then no nuts, only using 1 C oil, and 4 C zucchini and vanilla instead of cinnamon (personal tastes) it is a good cake. The low rating is 1. due to my changes 2. just not a fan. I guess if i would of added the chocolate chips it would of been chocolatey enough for me but if I'm to break my diet for chocolate cake, I will stick with my very moist dark chocolate cake recipe. I have a lot of zucchini this year and most years that I usually freeze for use in soups/stews in the winter. As for making it into breads or cake i do now have a bread recipe that I will make again but I would only make this again IF I get an abundance of zucchini that I froze and made into breads. Thanks for sharing it's a good recipe with some slight tweaking but just not my cup of tea. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
excellent! made this with whole wheat flour, subbed the oil with half melted butter/half applesauce. my 3 year old ate it for breakfast!! yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Moist, but found the cinnamon overpowered the taste of chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Great flavour but came out very heavy. I used one of those giant end of season zucchinis and I think there was higher water content than average so I'll drain/squeeze it next time. I made a sour cherry filling using sour cherries, sugar & cornstarch cooked for until thickened, and then iced with chocolate buttercream. Froze the cakes when cool before icing, then again between crumb coat and final icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Loved this. I reduced the sugar to 1 cup and found it not sweet enough. Made frosting for the top and was delicious. I also reduced the oil to 1 cup. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Omg my boyfriend loved this cake, especially with Oreo ice cream on the side, It was moist and chocolatey,great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This was excellent! I did as others suggested and reduced the oil to 1 c. (didn't replace with applesauce or anything else), and the cake was still very moist. I also subbed the nuts with chocolate chips. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Like another reviewer suggested, I cut the oil to 1 cup and it still turned out fantastic! I topped it with Hershey's chocolate icing (recipe on their baking cocoa canister.) Next time, I think I'll ice with buttercream or peanut buttercream. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This is a wonderful cake. It doesn't even need frosting its so good. I also used 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 oil. I had some butterscotch chips on hand so added 3/4 cup. Sweeter yet but really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Tastes like tasty chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States