Chocolate Zucchini Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Absolutely wonderful, doesn't even need frosting. I just sprinkled powdered sugar on top. I will be making this receipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
My friend made this recipe exactly according to this recipe and it was so good and not too sweet! I always try to make recipes a bit healthier when possible, so I substituted in 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour and 1 1/2 cup of reg. flour for the 2 cups of flour. I also sub. 1 1/4 cup natural unsweetened applesauce plus 2 Tbsp veg oil instead of the 1 1/2 cups oil. (The thought of using that much oil just makes me feel sick!) Mine had to bake for at least 1 hr. and 15 minutes. I did not add the nuts since my girl has a nut allergy. My version was more moist and slightly more sweet, and well worth the extra baking time, it didn't need any frosting! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Very yummy. I substituted 1 cup sugar with 1 tsp stevia sweetener, and reduced the oil by 1/2 cup to 1 cup total. Instead of frosting I topped with chocolate chips and crumbled walnuts. With the sugar reductions, my diabetic hubby can have a small piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I made this cake entirely vegan with egg replacer instead of eggs and coconut and vegetable oil. It was fabulous and a huge pleaser. Very moist and incredible. Not too sweet either. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Excellent recipe!!! I made this today for my brother's birthday cake. I omitted the nuts as half the family is allergic to them. I also substituted applesauce for the oil. It doesn't take away from the flavor or richness but does get rid of quite a bit of the fat. Everyone commented on how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This is an extremely moist cake and delicious. I omitted the nuts and used dark cocoa powder and it was quite rich. If you're looking for a healthy cake, this is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This cake is amazingly moist and delicious! I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil and it was just enough coconut flavor to make it even better - (if you like coconut).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I was looking for something fast and easy dessert to make with the ingredients that I had on hand which included a big zucchini from the garden. Wow, did I ever find it! This cake was awesome...wonderful flavor, super moist and no need for frosting. I just sprinkled a little powdered sugar on it after it had cooled. I served it with ice cream and some Sander's hot fudge (if you're from Michigan, you know how yummy that is) and it was a hit! This cake also was a great conversation piece with trying to guess the "secret" ingredient. By the way -- I didn't change a thing. The recipe was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FARMERSQUEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This is amazing! I'm for sure keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I am only putting 4 stars because my husband and father thought it was not sweet or flavorful enough. They would put three stars and I would put five. I really liked this cake. I made it in a bundt and baked for 50 mins at 350. Then I glazed it with a simple powdered sugar glaze. I really enjoyed the walnuts in this and I think some chocolate chips would be good too. I also did some of the changes that others did with 1/2 whole wheat flour 1/2 all purpose white and 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 oil. Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States