Chocolate Zucchini Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I made this for my daughter's 4th birthday. It was AMAZING!!! I followed another reviewer's advice and used 3/4 C applesauce + 3/4 C oil. Also I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of walnuts since my son is allergic to nuts. This one is sure a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
very good indeed! very moist but light texture. I used a bit less sugar (and used xylitol) and applesauce for some of the oil, a bit more than 3 cups of zucchini, all else the same, thanks for the recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I personally love this cake recipe! It's a real crowd-pleaser. However, I don't add the walnuts, and instead of frosting I add chocolate chips (1 bag) and brown sugar (liberally) to the top before baking! The chocolate chips get really gooey and the brown sugar adds a nice crumble crunch to the top! It's VERY tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Absolutely wonderful, doesn't even need frosting. I just sprinkled powdered sugar on top. I will be making this receipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
My friend made this recipe exactly according to this recipe and it was so good and not too sweet! I always try to make recipes a bit healthier when possible, so I substituted in 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour and 1 1/2 cup of reg. flour for the 2 cups of flour. I also sub. 1 1/4 cup natural unsweetened applesauce plus 2 Tbsp veg oil instead of the 1 1/2 cups oil. (The thought of using that much oil just makes me feel sick!) Mine had to bake for at least 1 hr. and 15 minutes. I did not add the nuts since my girl has a nut allergy. My version was more moist and slightly more sweet, and well worth the extra baking time, it didn't need any frosting! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Very yummy. I substituted 1 cup sugar with 1 tsp stevia sweetener, and reduced the oil by 1/2 cup to 1 cup total. Instead of frosting I topped with chocolate chips and crumbled walnuts. With the sugar reductions, my diabetic hubby can have a small piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I made this cake entirely vegan with egg replacer instead of eggs and coconut and vegetable oil. It was fabulous and a huge pleaser. Very moist and incredible. Not too sweet either. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Excellent recipe!!! I made this today for my brother's birthday cake. I omitted the nuts as half the family is allergic to them. I also substituted applesauce for the oil. It doesn't take away from the flavor or richness but does get rid of quite a bit of the fat. Everyone commented on how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This is an extremely moist cake and delicious. I omitted the nuts and used dark cocoa powder and it was quite rich. If you're looking for a healthy cake, this is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This cake is amazingly moist and delicious! I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil and it was just enough coconut flavor to make it even better - (if you like coconut).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States