Chocolate Zucchini Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Used this recipe for my son's 2nd birthday party cupcakes - we had a lot of zucchini from the garden to use up and he is a terrible veggie eater, so I thought - the best of both worlds :) At first taste I thought these were great - but later on I felt like they had a little bit of a bitter taste. Maybe it was that our zucchini were a little on the larger side, but I'm not 100% sure. We'll try it again this summer with small zukes and see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Just put mine in the oven! The batter looked like chocolate whipped cream before it went in to bake, mmmm we're excited! And most importantly, happy first birthday my little Lan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I followed the advice of some reviewers and used 3/4 cup of oil and 1/2 cup applesauce instead of the full 1 1/2 cups of oil. I also used 1/2 tsp cinnamon instead of the whole teaspoon. My complaint was more with the texture of the cake rather than the flavor. Even though I grated the zucchini very fine, I could still get some zucchini texture coming through. The cake was also a little too moist. It rose and then as it was cooling, it really sank down a lot. I do like my cake moist but this was just a bit too much. I would use a little more flour next time and cut back on the zucchini. Even my zucchini bread recipe doesn't call for that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I changed this recipe quite a bit and had a lot of success. I'm fairly health-conscious, and I figure that if I'm going to make something with zucchini in it, why would I detract from that by adding so much oil that it makes it disgusting? One and a half cups seems far too much for a cake that already uses zucchini to retain moisture. I also very much dislike sweet cakes, and thought the two cups of sugar would be too much (I don't understand the people who think it's not sweet enough!). This is not meant to be a "milk chocolate" cake. It is very dark, which is how I like my chocolate cake. The changes I made included halving the oil and replacing the other half with milk, using half the sugar, using all purpose whole wheat flour, omitting the walnuts, adding a couple teaspoons of vanilla and using a bundt pan. It turned out fabulous, and was barely sweet with a really dark chocolate flavour. After the changes I made it was not fudgy and instead turned out light and fluffy; no one noticed that it was made entirely with whole wheat flour. I could almost imagine it as a breakfast cake. If you only have a taste for milk chocolate though, this is not for you. Hope this helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I substituted half of the oil with applesauce. I also added chocolate chips to the batter. It turned out moist and decadent. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djaurora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I made this for the second time tonight. The whole family really likes it. I put it in the little mini-loaf pans so we can share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is a great recipe. The cake is moist, and very chocolaty. I made it with 1 cup of unsweetened applesauce in place of one cup of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
The most amazing, chocolatey, moist cake I've had in a long time!! I managed to get my finicky father to eat a big piece of it, and he loved it!! To me, it's the only way to use a green zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This cake is absolutely fabulous. The zucchini adds just the right amount of moisture to the cake and no one would ever know that is has a vegetable in it. I topped my off with chocolate frosting, but it is good with or without frosting. I used half sunflower oil and half grape seed oil. I will be taking this to my neighbors. Perhaps, if you have a fussy eater, it is one way to get them to eat their vegetables! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Super moist! Followed the recipe exact. Excellent, you'd never guess it was a zucchini cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States