Chocolate Zucchini Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by RebeccaD
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I am giving 5 stars but I did have to change it for my purposes. I replaced the cinnamon with vanilla. I do think the cinnamon would have worked here but since I was going to frost with strawberry frosting I decided on omitting the cinnamon and adding vanilla. I also decreased the cocoa powder to 1/2 cup as there was complaints about bitterness. Other than that I follwed to a T. I used two 9" cake pans and bake time was 35 min. I frosted with real strawberry frosting from this site and the result was divine. Everyone said it was 'the best cake they've had'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Really yummy!! Subbed 1 cup unsweetened applesauce for 1 cup of the oil and chocolate chips instead of walnuts because family doesn't like the nuts. Didn't frost it at all. Extremely moist and flavorful! Great way to use the abundance of zucchini in the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I had a ginormous zucchini and didn't know what to do with it. I'd already fried some and made bread. I am so glad I tried this recipe. The cake tasted like a Betty Crocker cake. No one can even tell there's zucchini in it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Love this cake! Very moist and chocolatey. Followed some alterations and only used 1 cup oil, and added 1 tsp vanilla, and subbed chocholate chips for the nuts. Grated the zucchini and mixed everything in my KitchenAid. Cooked in a bundt pan for 65min. I didn't even hide from my kids that there were zucchini in it. They didn't care and you couldn't even see the zucchini when it was done baking. The whole family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennicel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Added chocolate chips, no icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
just made it. a couple of adjustments...only 1 cup of oil, 1/4 tso cinnamon and 1 tsp vanilla. used minichocolate chips instead of nuts. super yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
UPDATE: MY MIL TOOK THIS TO WORK TO SHARE WITH HER (AND MY HUBS - THEY WORK AT THE SAME OFFICE) CO-WORKERS. EVERYTONE COULDN'T BELIEVE THIS WAS ZUCCHINI CAKE AND SEEMED TO REALLY LIKE IT! This was allright. Not my favorite cake, but decent nonetheless. My neighbor recommended I try this recipe. She has been making this very cake for years and is the SAME one she has made for me many times - and one homemade gift I always look forward to (who knew???)! I LOVE cinnamon, but felt there was FAR too much of it in this cake (the cinnamon taste overwhelmed everything else). I envisioned a moist, chocolately cake, but what I ended up with was a slightly sweet cake with a STRONG cinnamon taste. Even the chocolate fudge frosting I topped my cake with seemed oddly out of place (while chocolate and cinnamon generally complement each other, they didn't this time). NOTE #1: To cut some calories, I subbed HALF of the oil called for with unsweetened applesauce. NOTE #2: My neighbor forgot to tell me that she subs pumpkin pie spice for cinnamon. Had I known this, I would have done the same. :( This definitely improves the flavor, IMHO (and is the reason I like her cake SO much more than mine). If I make this again, I'll DEFINITELY use pumpkin pie spice, leave out the walnuts (personal preference), skip the frosting and dust with a sprinkling of powdered sugar instead. Thanks for sharing, Sandy! My in-laws seemed to enjoy this and were given leftovers to nosh on all week. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
An awesome, moist chocolate cake. I followed the recipe exactly and made butter cream frosting for it. It was great and my husband had two big pieces. Would also be good with chocolate butter cream or cream cheese frosting. A delicious way to use up the fresh garden zucchini that's coming in now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I've made this cake a number of times now - and as written it is a bit oily in my opinion. I now use 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce in place of the 1 1/2 cup of oil and it is still very moist. We don't like nuts in our cake, so we substitute chocolate chips. It makes a large bundt cake - an excellent cake with the noted substitutions (that many reviewers have already noted). This is my go-to chocolate cake recipe in the summer when I'm using up zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I added chocolate chips - huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 403) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States