Chocolate Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
WOW! This is fantastic- definitely let the glaze soak in overnight- I love rum cake and this recipe was delicious! A definite keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNROBYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
I took this cake to a party and everyone enjoyed it so much they were picking the crumbs off the empty plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Very good and moist! I'm a "scratch" baker and thought it would taste like a boxed recipe but surprisingly good! I cut down the sugar a bit for the glaze but excellent! gobbled up. Lots of ideas for variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
YUM YUM This cake is delish. I also made it using yellow cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This was a really good recipe. Not an overpowering rum taste, just a nice flavor, and a very moist cake. I used chopped pecans instead of walnuts; and made sure I could get it out of the bundt pan prior to pouring the glaze over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I made this for my husband's office party and it was a big hit. One thing I did differently was to mix more nuts into the batter just because I like it that way. It gets better the longer you let it sit for the glaze to soak in. I didn't give it five stars because I'm not a fan of boxed cake mix. Even though it has an excellent flavor, you can still tell it began with a box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minden, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lansing, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
What could be better than chocolate and rum mixed together? My only suggestions are that you use light rather than white rum, and make it a day ahead so that the flavors have time to improve. This cake is delicious and moist, plus it's easy to make. MMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
This makes a very rich and moist cake. I served it at a party to 10 ladies and 3 of them asked for the recipe. I am bringing this to another function tomorrow. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
Excellent cake....very moist and flavorful. Makes a large and atractive cake also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
THIS CAKE WAS VERY EASY TO MAKE AND VERY TASTY!! iT WAS EVEN BETTER THE NEXT DAY AFTER BEING REFRIDGERATED!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States