Chocolate Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Made cake for my mother's bridge group. Poked holes in top of cake with long two prong fork (after baking.) Then I used measuring cup to pour small amounts of glaze, repeating procedure after glaze soaked into cake. The men liked the cake because it was not too sweet and had a lot of moisture. It probably tasted better because I made day before serving, refrigerated overnight, cut in serving pieces about four hours before serving at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
very good! used slivered almonds, added cinnamon and nutmeg. will definitely make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankfort, Indiana, USA
Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Tried making it for the first time over the holidays and have made it perfectly 3 times already! Did notice that when I used 4 extra large eggs, the cake rose higher than when smaller eggs were used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Yum! Very easy, tasty and it smells fabulous. It was a big hit at a recent family Christmas party. I used Myers Rum instead of white rum in both cake and glaze, replaced a little of the water in the glaze with rum, and replaced 1/2 C of white sugar with dark brown sugar in the glaze as well. I may add a little cinnamon to this one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I made this; my husband didn't care fo r it. I thought it was average, but would not make it again. I would recommend 1/2 cup of sour cream mixed into the cake mix. It was extremely dry and I even added some water when mixing it because I had a difficult time with the mixer working properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
so easy and perfect for fall parties
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jog4donuts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
delicious. no modifications needed/made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This was a hit with my dad! Only thing, it does not freeze well. The butter from the glaze did not survive the thawing process, and I had to scrape the solid "fat" from the outside of the cake. I also drizzled amaretto over the top - post thaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kasha_n_kids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This recipe was great, I baked mine a little too long so be careful of the baking time. It was a hit with the family and the amount of rum was just right (not too strong)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
My dad used to make it every Christmas and i used to have the recipie but it got lost and here it is again! YUMMY YUMMY!!!! This cake didn't last long at all!!!! And, its SOOO easy to make you can make it anytime! This was a crowd pleaser even my 3 yr old loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFERKATIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States