Chocolate Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
My Momma used to make this all the time here in southern Mo some people have heard of it some not.. My mom always when in a hurry just made it just like white gravy only with chocolate milk.. easyspeasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
My mother in law suggested I make this for my toddler, and I decided to try this recipe. I have never had chocolate gravy before, so i have no comparision. That being said, as far as consistency goes, the ratios were right on. I had to add some more milk later on, as it thickened fairly quickly while on low heat. I added an extra 1/2 T cocoa, 1/2 tsp vanilla, and 1/8 tsp salt. It wasn't my cup of tea, but that's not to say that this recipe isn't good. It did taste like a warm chocolate pudding, so if this is what you're looking for, this is a recipe for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
i lost my recipe for chocolate gravy and used this one and i think this one is by far the best i have ever tasted! I grew up on choc gravy and now i can make it for my children..thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I still have no idea what I just made? But, it is like a chocolate pudding in texture and thickeness but, more mild, and not overly sweet tasting, like a homemade hot chocolate in taste. It is delicious! Everyone that saw it asked me why I was making pudding and wanted some! It had such a comfort food quality and tasted rather good warm or cold. I may make again to eat it plain or with homemade biscuits some morning, as others suggested. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I started using this recipe 2 years ago to share some ""southern" food with my IL-raised boyfriend and his family, and they all loved it. I grew up on chocolate gravy, and I think this recipe is fantastic as well. It never seems to make a "thick paste" after the cocoa and flour, but I move onto the next step and it does thicken up nicely. Continual whisking ensures that it doesn't burn, and helps it thicken. Perfect taste, perfect texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
i make this weekly. love it! my step daughter always ASKS for the brownie gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ctongswife08
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
tastes like heaven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ctongswife08

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I have made this recipe several times and it never fails! Delicious. My husband and 5 boys think it's a special occasion when I cook them chocolate gravy. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvBNaMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Signal Mountain, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Searcy, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
My 16 yo sister made this and it came out great! She has no cooking ability so that's saying something. This is THE recipe to use for Father's Day! LOL Oh she added 1 t. vanilla. Apparently someone else here suggested it. thanks for the tip, it DID help thicken it according to her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
This a great recipe. It is perfect chocolate gravy. It tastes just as good as my mom's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nitacsome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States