Chocolate Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I have to make this using Stevia and Almond or Rice mild (organic). I'll bet it'll be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Way better on hot buttered biscuits than on toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Nothing beats chocolate gravy on a chilly morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
My grandmother used to make this once a week when my cousins & I would spend the summer months with her& grandpa! So many sweet memories& if there was any left wich was rare she would make a cake& use it for iceing. I have been able to pass this on with my kids now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Texas, USA
Living In: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
My Momma used to make this all the time here in southern Mo some people have heard of it some not.. My mom always when in a hurry just made it just like white gravy only with chocolate milk.. easyspeasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
My mother in law suggested I make this for my toddler, and I decided to try this recipe. I have never had chocolate gravy before, so i have no comparision. That being said, as far as consistency goes, the ratios were right on. I had to add some more milk later on, as it thickened fairly quickly while on low heat. I added an extra 1/2 T cocoa, 1/2 tsp vanilla, and 1/8 tsp salt. It wasn't my cup of tea, but that's not to say that this recipe isn't good. It did taste like a warm chocolate pudding, so if this is what you're looking for, this is a recipe for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
i lost my recipe for chocolate gravy and used this one and i think this one is by far the best i have ever tasted! I grew up on choc gravy and now i can make it for my children..thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I still have no idea what I just made? But, it is like a chocolate pudding in texture and thickeness but, more mild, and not overly sweet tasting, like a homemade hot chocolate in taste. It is delicious! Everyone that saw it asked me why I was making pudding and wanted some! It had such a comfort food quality and tasted rather good warm or cold. I may make again to eat it plain or with homemade biscuits some morning, as others suggested. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I started using this recipe 2 years ago to share some ""southern" food with my IL-raised boyfriend and his family, and they all loved it. I grew up on chocolate gravy, and I think this recipe is fantastic as well. It never seems to make a "thick paste" after the cocoa and flour, but I move onto the next step and it does thicken up nicely. Continual whisking ensures that it doesn't burn, and helps it thicken. Perfect taste, perfect texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
i make this weekly. love it! my step daughter always ASKS for the brownie gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States