Chocolate Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
We made this recipe in "Home Ec" in H.S. in the '70's, lol! A wonderful secret was...make drop dumplings with BisQuik and drop them into the simmering "soup" follow the "drop dumpling" directions on the BisQuik box....Oh my!!! It's like chocolate cobbler! Put a few slices of banana or your fav fresh fruit on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by USAF mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mingo Junction, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This is a recipe my mother in-law used to fix for me on weekends when I came to visit. Try adding dumplings while the mixture is cooking. use you own bisquit dough or store bought bisquits cut into pieces will do also.It is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I've never heard of Chocolate Gravy until I came across this recipe. It's actually quite tasty! It has a nice cocoa flavor. We served it over pancakes and later added a tablespoon or more to a glass of milk for some excellent chocolate milk! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmyra, Missouri, USA
Living In: La Grange, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I have made chocolate gravy for 35 years, my husband grew up on it. This is a great recipe with a warm buttered hot biscuit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This is a recipe my grandmother made for me when I was just a little girl. I make it now for my daughters and we love it. I do add 1 tsp of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Back in '77 my MotherIL made this and I DID NOT want to eat it, ewww! But when I finally gave in, OMG! I then tweaked her recipe and it's the same as this one. After I split with my husband he called me to get this recipe. Now my kids make it for their kids and it's a favorite! Its great to see this old-skool recipe here, try it, you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Oh, my gosh, this was sublime! Fried up some thick cut Applewood smoked bacon, served with some homemade biscuits all slathered with butter and it was a heart attack on a plate and we loved every sinful bite. Of course, this was a trial run and we'll have to limit ourselves to this kind of mad indulgence on special occasions. No one who has reviewed this recipe claims it's healthy and good for you and is something you'd eat every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
My grandmother always made chocolate gravy for us when we came to visit her in Southeast Missouri - it is still a family treat. For an even richer and fuller flavor, add 1 tsp vanilla extract. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I only eat 18 ww points a day and this grazy costs me 5 points before I even add anything else to the plate...no I like the wgt I lost and don't want the clown butt coming back
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kattididit

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sun City West, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Recipe is absolutely sinful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States