Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
These were great and so easy!! The only change I would make would be to use a substitute for butter. The butter flavor was not something I wanted to taste in my chocolate covered cherries. I also just melted chocolate chips in the microwave instead of confectioners coating because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Phenomenal recipe! You definitely have to keep the dough and cherries cold for better handling. I've also marinated the cherries in rum overnight (in the freezer) for a spiked chocolate covered cherry. Potent but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
these turned out pretty good although time consuming, i followed recimmendations to leave sit 2weeks to allow syrup to form inside, some weere perfect others were still a bit dry but overall they were a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I had never tasted a traditional chocolate covered cherry before, but my boss and mother in law both mentioned that these are their favorite candies sometime this past summer so I decided to go out on a limb and make these as Christmas gifts. Lucky for me both my boss and mother in law said they were perfect! I was unable to find cherries with stems (shame as it would have made dipping much easier!) but I did find a chocolate coating in a microwavable tray which made things a bit easier. One batch made ~30 cherries for me so I'll be sure to make a double batch next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I saw this recipe last year but had waited too late to prepare it for Christmas. Tried it this year ... wow! Better than the store bought candies. I didn't change anything in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I've made several batches of the 'original recipe' and can say they are a HUGE hit with my family. I made them for Christmas, both as Christmas Eve Dessert and as a gift for my mother (who LOVES chocolate covered cherries), and everyone loved them. I followed the recipe exactly and didn't QUITE get as many out of it as the recipe calls for, but I have no complaints. The fondant is easy to make in a stand mixer, and if you don't have baker's melting chocolate, simply combine chocolate chips and shortening (2 tablespoons shortening for every 2 cups of chips, according to Ghirardelli) in a bowl and microwave until melted. Works like a charm. I'll be trying some of the "flavored" fondants next, and look forward to making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
These were good!!! Followed the advise of others and froze the cherries after I covered them with te fondant. I also put them in a paper lined mini muffin tin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I found it much easier to freeze my cherries and chill the filling before putting them together, just take enough cherries out to do so they do not start to thaw, then I popped them back in the freezer to set up and dipped them in chocolate, very easy and they went together like a dream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I made these last year and they were a HUGE hit. I used the Oregon brand canned cherries and I also made a batch with blue berries. The dough is hard to work with, especially if you are impatient like I am, but in the end they are very much worth the effort. They have been requested again this year, and I cannot refuse to deliver. These are great for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I have been making these for several years, they were my mothers favorite candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States