Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
Great, better than a store bought box of chocolates
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
These are GREAT. We made them for Christmas gifts and everyone was very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
made these for Christmas last year and sent them out to relatives. My brother-in-law loved them and asked for them again this christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
easy to make, everyone i give them to loves them. better than store-bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
My dad loves chocolate covered cherries, and he thought these were excellent. I made them for him and gave them to him for Christmas. Everyone who tried them loved them. It is best to keep the fondant fairly thin, that way they don't end up too sweet. Also, when dipping them in the chocolate, make sure to cover the entire cherry. If you don't, the fondant will leak out. I also suggest that after you take the chocolate covered cherry off the wax paper, use your finger or something to spread a little chocolate on the bottom to ensure that there won't be any leaks. Great Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
These are better than store bought and suprisingly easy to make. I was worried about using to much of the sugar dough and was probably too skimpy. I'd be sure to use the full teaspoon next time. After 3 or 4 days, they were already nice and creamy. I think next time I might also try adding a bit of paraffin to the chocolate coating... they seemed to lose their lustre within the first week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
I make these every year during the holidays. I add almond extract to the 'fondant'. Yes! Let them set for at least a week because wonderful things happen inside the chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
As always, I made a slight modification just to make things easier: I bought tubs of the microwavable dipping chocolates that is now available in most stores to dip the cherries in. Here is a very helpful tip: Buy the mini-muffin/cupcake/candy cups to place each cherry in after dipping. I found mine at Michael's craft store but I know they have them in grocery stores, as well. I think it looks nice to use these when presenting them, especially if they are in a candy box. Also, it is helpful if you dip the cherry and place it directly into the cup...because when you pick the cherry up from whatever surface, there is a spot where the chocolate doesn't cover and the juices from the filling will seep out. What happened to me the first time round with this recipe was this: I placed the dipped cherries onto wax paper to dry. Then, I moved the cherries from the wax paper into my container. The filling seeped out through the bottom part of the cherry that had touched the wax paper and there was no chocolate there. So, it helps to put them into the candy cups directly after dipping them. Hoped this all made sense!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
713 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
I made this for by boyfriend who loves chocolate covered cherries. Excellent recipe and very easy. Better than store bought. The hard part is letting them sit around for 1-2 weeks without eating them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
What a wonderful treat. Fun to make and the taste was sinfully delicious..Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Declo, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States