Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
super easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I'm a Baker and have been using a recipe very similar to this for years. The only difference is that I add about 1 tsp of the Cherry Syrup to the sugar dough. I find that it adds more flavor to the final product. In my experience, You really must keep the dough refrigerated, I usually have time to make about 10 before putting it back in the fridge (for about 7-10 minutes). Also, when wrapping the cherries in the sugar, smush it in kinda roughly, and then roll it in your hands to even it out. That creates the nicest result. And when I do mine, sometimes I use cherries without stems. When doing this, you need to have wire tongs to dip it into the chocolate, but the overall result is the same. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by mommytron
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
i have made a very similar recipe to this before. they were a hit but when i went to make them i couldn't find my recipe. i found this one and it sounded the same, so i gave them a shot. i bought 4 jars of about 32 cherries..so about 120 cherries and doubled the filling recipe. i used a pound of the chocolate coating (almond bark) and a bag of semi-sweet chips with a Tbsp of shortening for the chocolate dip. they came out beautifully, i tried a couple of them, the taste is great, we'll see how they turn out in a couple of weeks! i'm hoping for a nice liquid-y center like the last recipe i used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
So glad I decided to finally make these this year. My husbands aunt makes them every year and they are my favorite! A little time consuming, but not bad either. Very easy for the most part. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I have been making chocolate covered cherries for years. Last year I tried something a little different and I soaked the cherries overnight in bourbon to give them a slight liquor flavor. I'm not a bourbon drinker but these were eaten up very quickly. Excited to let this new batch "ripen" to see if the filling is nice and soft. Recipe was very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winfield, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
these chocolate covered cherries were delicious! i had never made them before and they turned out amazing. they were very easy to make they were just a bit time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I loved making these! I used the "almond bark" microwave dipping chocolate, melted it in a coffee cup and dipped the cherries with a toothpick. They came out delicious and the whole family ate most of the first batch in a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I have made thousands and thousands of chocolate covered cherries (with a different recipe), and I sell them by the dozen. Just a few tips, you do not need to let them harden after wrapping them, after making thousands, I decided that was a step that was totally not necessary, I wrap them with the stem sticking out, and immediately dip in the chocolate, and put in a clear plastic mini muffin container with a paper liner, and wala, done with it. I leave the stems on because when they are on a tray with other candy, it is very obvious of what this candy is, I think it is kind of unique, and even in the mini muffin containers, it looks nice with the stems in. The wrapping won't totally turn liquid but will get juicier with time. I store them in the refrigerator, they can also be frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This looks very similar to the recipe I got years ago from a Southern Living magazine. I usually mix up three batches of the "filling" one I use to make the chocolate covered cherries, the next I mix in baker's coconut, and the last I mix in mint flavoring to taste. Then you have 3 different candies. Also I usually melt 1 pkg of chocolate candy coating and then stir in a 12oz pkg of semi-sweet chocolate chips. This gives it a more genuine chocolate taste while keeping the firmness that you get from using the candy coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I was going to make these for my mother-in-law, who loves chocolate covered cherries, and they were a disaster. I made use of the freezer, added extra powdered sugar, and the powdered sugar coating was still a big gooey mess. To make matters worse, i tried to dip a few, and a glob of it fell off in the chocolate, and made it unusable. I would not make these again, sorry. The flavors were good, but not better than the store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States