Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
These are EXCELLENT!!! Some of the best cookies I have ever made. I did make a few changes--half margarine/half shortening (I do this with all of my cookies...for some reason my cookies can turn out flat as frisbees, this prevents that from happening), and I did half brown sugar/half white sugar. The end result? OMG, cookies of divine chocolaty-ness, to die for. Better than the local bakery's chocolate chocolate chip cookies. I'd give it more stars if I could. Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
698 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster Groves, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Great recipe just as written. Whenever a cookie recipe calls for butter I always chill the dough for an hour or so before baking as this prevents a flat cookie. The taste of butter can't be beat! The chocolate chips and nuts can be substituted with any variety of options...this time I used two King Size Hershey Bars with almonds, but vanilla chips, dried cherries, etc. could also be fun to try. Great recipe, great cookie. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
544 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Ooo-ooo-oooh! Marvelous little bites of chocolate heaven. After reading previous reviews I was concerned about dryness after the first day so I used half butter and half butter-flavored shortening for the fat. Since I was using a small cookie scoop, I used mini chocolate chips (baked for 8 minutes)...all I can say is they are perfect for a chocoholic like me. For those who don't know this tip: Line your baking sheet with regular old aluminum foil and you'll have no problem with cookies sticking. Use a new sheet each time then slide the foil onto newspapers to cool slightly before removing cookies to wire racks. Thank you for the perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
421 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
A little update - it has now been more than three days, and the cookies are still wonderfully soft and chewy in my airtight cookie jar. Also, if your cookies do dry out, try putting a slice of raw apple in there with them. They'll soften up soon. This apple trick also works for gingersnaps or any other cookie that gets hard quickly. It also works for brown sugar that has hardened. Don't leave the apple in there so long that it spoils, of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
290 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2c shortening instead of the 1 cup of butter and they came out similiar to the wonderful 'Otis Spunkmeyer' cookies! Very tasty...be sure to use the lesser cooking time as they continue to cook on the sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
These cookies are great! They are very soft and chewy with a nice rich chocolate flavor. In fact, they taste just like little brownies. I was concerned they would not turn out because the dough seemed thick and sticky, but baking at 350 degrees for exactly 8 min produced a perfectly plump and shiny cookie! Using half chocolate and half white chips makes these so cute! I will probably add chopped nuts next time I bake these which is sure to be soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
These are so chocolatey it's ridiculous! Not a bad thing, but I'm definitely going to add more nuts next time. They aren't dense, and they stay very soft. The only change I made to this recipe was to follow the suggestion to use 1 cup white and 1/2 cup brown sugar (light brown, very lightly packed), and it's perfect. Co-workers are giving thumbs-up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Long review alert! Yes, even after 1000+ reviews, I am going to leave one! Deep chocolate flavor, pleasantly (but not overly) sweet, soft texture but not too gooey, perfect height(not flat) and just downright irresistible! I read through 100's of reviews and made the following tweaks to this recipe: 1/2 cup butter & 1/2 cup solid shortening instead of 1 c butter, 3/4 c white sugar & 3/4 c dark brown sugar instead of 1 1/2 c white sugar, 1 T vanilla instead of 2 t vanilla, used dutch processed cocoa, 1 t baking soda instead of 3/4 t, and added 1 t baking powder and 1 t instant coffee. In addition I used aluminum foil to line the pans and that eliminated any sticking. The dough was not sticky at all and it held together well without spreading (I didn't even refrigerate the batter between batches!). Several tips for cookie novices (I learned from previous reviewers): Mix the butter & shortening until fluffy, then add the eggs and vanilla and beat with a mixer until blended to death! When you think it's ready, do an extra minute. Mix(by hand, not mixer) the dry ingredients before adding to the wet ingredients. Mix the wet and dry ingredients with a wooden spoon until the dry ingredients are just mixed in. THEN, using a hand mixer, continue to blend the ingredients until you don't see a speck of dry material! At this point add the chips and nuts by hand. I made 40 cookies at about 2 1/2 inches across. Death by Chocolate! Whoo-hoo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
I thought that these cookies were really good. Great flavor, my boyfriend loved them. Just make sure that you underbake them or they will get a bit hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
These were just what I needed to satisfy the chocolate craving! They were more like cake than cookie and the faster you can eat them the better cause they do get dry and crumbly after a day GREAT TASTE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Quigley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States