Chicken Tortilla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
So good! Family Fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZombieT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Excellent and easy to make. It does make a huge batch though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This soup is awesome- everyone loved it! The only changes I made were adding more chicken broth (with all the yummy garnishes it just seemed too thick) and adding jalapeno and hot sauce (the garnishes balanced out the "heat" very well). Thanks for sharing this recipe- I'm sure I will be making it regularly for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Loved It!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Good starter recipe. I boiled the chicken and used the broth from the boiled Chicken instead of chicken stock. I added salt as well. There are a lot of ways you can make this soup to your liking. Thanks for the recipe. It's a good starting point for a quick and easy soup .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I have been making a double recipe of this, exactly as written, at least once a month for almost a year now. My husband loves it, and the leftovers freeze great!!! I freeze the leftovers in individual serving size containers, and he takes them for lunch to work almost every day. He gets a little tired of it every 3-4 weeks, but then after only one week of different lunches he asks for it again! Even with all my experience making this recipe, I have never felt a need to alter the recipe. However, since chicken breasts are so much more expensive than whole chickens and since when the meat is in a soup even my white-meat-loving husband can't tell the difference, I use a whole chicken when doubling the recipe. I make it easy by putting a 4-5 pound chicken in some water in the crockpot on low for about 6-8 hours (this also makes great broth for the soup!), then when the first ingredients are simmering I strain the fresh broth into the soup and I remove the bones and shred all the chicken to add to the soup. This is easy to do after slow-cooking, even if you're clueless about how to take apart whole chickens, because it's falling off the bones and the pieces don't matter because you're using all the meat anyway. Try this-- it's way cheaper than chicken breasts and the crockpot makes it easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
The soup came out delicious. The only adjustments I made were adding a teaspoon of cumin, per other reviewer recommendations. I used red kidney beans instead of black beans and I omitted the hominy. The flavor of the soup is outstanding, but what really makes great is the toppings. Yum! I love that it was quick and easy to make. A great way to use some leftover chicken. I definitely plan on holding onto this recipe to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
After about a year of looking over this recipe, I finally decided to make it. I read and re-read most of the reviews. From there a made a few small variations. Like most, I opted out of the oregeno and used cumin instead. I also added ancho pepper for a nice kick on the back end. I substituted water for strictly broth,using 4 cups in all. Finally, I diced onions, green peppers, garlic and green chiles, placed them in a small amount of olive oil and sauteeed. I added my chicken (seasoned with salt and pepper) and broth and let cook until chicken was perfectly tender. After reading the reviews, I decided to combine the broth, corn, tomatoes (I used Rotel), chiles, black beans and seasonings in a stock pot and let boil until my chicken was finished. Garnished with cheese, avacado, green onions and tortilla chips; my husband and children LOVED it! This is definitely a house favorite now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This is a good base recipe but like many other reviewers, I had to make several modifications which is why I can't rate it higher than 3. Here are some changes. Omit oregano. Add 2 tsp cumin. Double the chili powder, corn, diced green chilis and black beans. Add salt and pepper and dash of cayenne to taste. Shred chicken instead of cubing. Cook at least an hour before serving. Day two is even better so good to make a day before you plan to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I would shred the chicken next time I make this, and I did also substitute the hominy for an extra cup of corn. Otherwise it was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,045) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States