Chicken Tortilla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I followed the recipe pretty closely. Not bad, but not great. The base was too tomatoey for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I didn't make the recipe as written after reading many reviews. I made some changes, and the soup is wonderful! Everyone in my family said it was really good - and that's a victory! Here are the changes: 1) used two cans condensed chicken broth, plus the juice from the baked chicken 2) did NOT add water 3) replaced oregano with 1 tsp. cumin 4) used only 1/2 tsp. chili powder 5) used one 14 oz. can diced tomatoes and one 10 oz can Rotel Mexican LIme & Cilantro - pureed in blender 6) Did not use hominy - didnt miss it 7) Added lime juice - didnt measure, but it was about 1 -1.5 tsp 8) Added about 1/2 cup plain yogurt at the very end - then let it simmer about 1.5 hours. Do NOT allow soup to boil once yogurt is added. This was so good - i will be making this again, very soon !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcclusky, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I love, love, love this soup. I did add cumin as several reviewers suggested. And I do use chicken broth instead of water. Overall, though, I find this to be an amazingly versatile recipe. I have made alterations when I did not have the exact ingredients on hand. For example, I have used hominy instead of black beans. And I have even tried it with Goya pink beans. My suggestion is, stick to the recipe as much as possible. If there is an ingredient that you don't care for, make adjustments as you go. In my opinion, the toppings contribute a lot to the overall flavor. So don't omit them. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Deliciouso!!! Very good, I underestimated this recipe but let me tell you you won't be disappointed! I did use the cumin instead of the othe no like suggested and I let it simmer for about 30 to 45 mins to let the flavors developed . I makes plenty for a fulfilling meal and enough for a quick lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Sooooo yummy sooooo easy! Big hit with the family! I only added some cumin to the recipe...perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy6425

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This recipe was absolutely amazing! I've made it a few times and omit the hominy, green chiles, and black beans. My family loves it and the aroma draws them in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Absolutely LOVED this recipe. I looked at the other reviews and changed some things, too, to make it just right. Instead of one can of chicken broth, I used a 48 oz container of it for a perfect consistency. I also added a little more cilantro to taste, because you can never have enough cilantro in my house. :) Also, I used a can of Rotel instead of chile peppers for a little more flavor, and a whole bag of frozen corn instead of hominy. If you like a little kick, you also HAVE to add a couple tablespoons of chopped jalepenos (depending on how spicy you want the soup.) Garnish with avocado and a squeeze of lime, and it is the PERFECT soup. Better than any restaurant, and even better when heated up the next day. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Great recipe! served with warm corn bread it's a great meal anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jennifer_a00
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Followed the recipe, except instead of water, I used all chicken broth. This was great! We all loved it. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Marce
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I did not change a thing it is so very good even my two year loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,082) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States