Chicken Tortilla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
made it and loved it; all the family did like it but personal preference, next time we will not use the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by getsa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I made this and edited it according to most of the reviews. I used cumin instead of oregano, I used two cans of chicken broth instead of the condensed chicken broth and water. I did not use hominy. I added a can of corn. The one thing I did that I did not see in reviews which I do to store bought tortilla soup is I added a chopped chipotle pepper, it adds the smoky flavor and kick I love. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Loved it ! and so has everyone whom I've shared this soup with. I do take a short cut by using a whole roasted chicken from the grocery store (shred it and discard the skin and bones) I also add chipotle peppers in adobo instead of the green chilies , 1 tsp of ground cumin and 1-14oz can of diced tomatoes. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pine Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
It was good but just seemed a little bland. It had a little kick but it seemed like something was missing. I would have preferred it a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Delicious!!! Absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Made this last night and followed some suggestions from other reviews. You really can't go wrong with this recipe. Here are the changes I made. 64oz of chicken stock for the liquid, 28oz can of white hominy because that is what my store had, 2 cans of diced green chilies, 2 cans of corn and black beans, 1.5tsp cumin instead of oregano. After sauteing the onions and garlic I put everything into a large stock pot, brought it to a boil, then simmered for just over an hour. It was awesome! My 19yo son usually hates anything with chili powder and cumin and he asked me to put this in his college recipe binder so he can make it on his own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraftyPancakes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
By far the best chicken tortilla soup I've ever had. The only thing I didn't use in this recipe was the condensed chicken broth. I boiled my own chicken with a bouillon cube and used that instead. My kids and husband wiped my pot clean. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
So yummy! My husband and two young sons could not rave enough about how tasty it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This recipe serves as a great guide but required some changes. Based on others reviews and my personal taste, this is what I used: ½ onion, finely diced 3 cloves garlic, minced 1 Tbsp olive oil ½ tsp chili powder 1 tsp ground cumin 4 cups water 2 Knorr chicken bouillon cubes 1 can (28 oz) crushed tomatoes 1 can whole kernel corn, drained 1 can white hominy, drained 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed ¼ cup chopped fresh cilantro 1/2 jalapeño, seeds removed 6 chicken tenderloins salt to taste 1. In a frying pan, saute chicken tenderloins in a little olive oil (lightly seasoned with salt and pepper) just until cooked through. Shred and set aside. 2. In a medium stock pot, heat oil over medium heat. Saute onion and garlic in oil until soft. Add all ingredients, cover and simmer on medium-low heat for at least 30 minutes. 3. Serve topped with crushed tortilla chips, avocado and lime. The first night I made this soup, we topped with cheese, avocado, tortilla chips and sour cream. It was good but not great. The second day when I ate the leftovers, I didn't use cheese or sour cream but topped with tortilla chips, avocado and lime and its the lime that put it over the top. This is my new favorite recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Great soup. Used the ingredients as listed, only omitting the oregano and adding a can of rotel because I didn't have green chilies. Only other changes I made were I used a rotisserie chicken and added one chipotle pepper in adobo sauce because I didn't find it spicy enough. I simmered for one hour as others suggested. Served with guacamole, cheese, sour cream and chips. Delicious and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,036) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States