Chicken Tortilla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
the best recipe out there. I add other beans to it like pinto, garbanzo, plus the black beans, and i add diced tomatoes. Also instead of using the 2 teaspoons of chili powder, i use 1 teaspoon of ancho chili powder, and 1 teaspoon of red chili powder. it gives the soup a nice kick to it. i love this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I tweaked the recipe a bit, as I love a lot of flavor in my tortilla soup. First of all I doubled the recipe, then I minced 6 jalapeños (no seeds) to the onion instead of using the green chiles. (Now I'm not one for HOT flavor at all but without the seeds, the jalapeños are just a nice bell pepper-type taste.) I saved the cilantro to be served on the top of the soup. I used 2 cans of corn, 1 can of black beans, 1 can of pintos and 1 can of sliced olives along with 3 cans of the tomatoes. I used two large cartons of chicken broth. Instead of using the hominy, I used 6 corn tortillas and minced them (in the Cuisinart) together with the seasonings, and then added the tortilla mixture to the tomato vegetable mixture to thicken it which worked very well. I sautéed the chicken separately and added it to the soup at the very end just before serving, so as to keep it soft and tender. I set out crunchy tortilla chips, grated cheddar cheese, sour cream, minced cilantro and chopped avocado to add to the top of the soup as it was ladled into the bowls. The soup turned out absolutely magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This was so easy and came out great. I'm a midwestern girl, living out in West Texas. I've been trying all different kinds of Tortilla Soup and this recipe is pretty authentic to what I get around here. And it's shamefully easy to make. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because the lack of seasoning recommended in the recipe. I actually took the corn, frozen, and cooked it at the bottom of the saucepan, so it browned a little, added the garlic and onion, and then put in 1/4 cup of Chili powder, some oregano, cumin, coriander and cayenne pepper. I used Mild Hatch Chilies. The White Hominy was really good. I hadn't used that before. Everything was perfect, except if you like some seasoning without it burning off your tongue, you need to add a little more than was recommended. Thank you for an easy and delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Ala Bohn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
The soup was a big hit on a rainy day!! my husband and his friends loved it! i left out the homny bc our grocery store only caries the huge can. It was fine without it! Yumm!! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yadi Calderon Pallares

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Good flavor, made as is except without the hominy. More of a chili consistency, but that was ok. Would shred chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I made my tortilla soup using a little bit of advice from several reviewers. I left out the hominy, water, chili powder and oregano. I added a packet of Lawry's taco seasoning, and sliced olives then swapped the water for broth. I used chicken breast from a rotisserie chicken I picked up at Costco. This is a quick meal to whip up but taste as if I spent the entire afternoon cooking. I forgot I used red kidney beans instead of black beans. This is definitely a keeper. The next time I make it I will add more broth or water because it was very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This soup was fantastic, out of this world, we loved it. It was pretty spicey though so if you don't like that I would cut back on the chili powder to taste. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This was my first attempt at making chicken tortilla soup and I chose this recipe after looking at several on the site, and was not disappointed. This is a great recipe! I followed it exactly with a few minor changes based on other reviews: I used 40 oz of chicken broth, substituted cumin for the oregano, added the juice from half of a lime, I shredded the chicken instead of cutting it into pieces, and I omitted the black beans as a personal preference. I let it simmer for about an hour as others had suggested and this seem to really set the flavors. I also made my own tortilla strips using corn tortillas cut into strips and baked in the oven until crispy. I used the toppings as called for in the recipe and it was just perfect. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
sooooo Good! I make this quite often, this is a great base recipe. Honestly, you can add so many things to your liking and it is great every time. I don't think I have ever made it the same, haha. It is my kids favorite meal and it is good for you too!! Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey Wheeler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Villa Rica, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This was just okay. I can't really pinpoint anything I disliked about it, just in general, it wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States