Chicken Tortilla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Added 1/2 teaspoon of Cumin, and substituted chicken leg quarters for the breast meat. Excellent flavor and consistency. Will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Made this today with my daughter, it was so good, omitted the white Hominy and exchanged the can of chopped green chili peppers for a jalapeno pepper this soup was AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Donohoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I am lookingforward to making this soup but do not like black beans whatsoever. Any suggestions for a substitution? Or maybe just omit them? All suggestions are welcome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Here goes...I am basing my review off of the changes recommended by JENNANTHONY99. I did as they recommended, for the most part. I did not add an extra can of water, and I am glad I didn't. I followed the seasoning recommendations, but it seems like every recipe I try from this site ends up tasting bland. It's an easy fix. I seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper, and garlic powder on both sides. Then, I cooked it with the garlic and chopped onion. I shredded it, and dropped it in my electric pressure/slow cooker with the 4 cups of chicken broth, corn, pinto beans (didn't have black beans), canned chile peppers, and diced tomatoes. I added the seasonings. Chili powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper, a bit of cayenne pepper, and cumin instead of oregano. It wasn't enough. I added more of each seasoning until it improved. The chips help a lot with the finished product. Finally, I cooked the soup for five minutes at high pressure. I wish I could find an accurate McAlister's chicken tortilla soup recipe. This was alright, but not close enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilLady88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Made this because it's cold and everyone in our house is sick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by YennieMEOW
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Super delicious and easy to make! I substitute plain chicken with chopped boneless fried chicken and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YennieMEOW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Very good recipe, everyone loved it. I did add about 1/2 teaspoon of salt. I used regular (uncondenced) low sodium broth and I added 32 oz, a little bit more than recomended. Maybe if I used regular sodium then the extra salt might not have been needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This is one of our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahWilks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
The only major difference I do to this recipe is swap the water for chicken broth. It is a great recipe on its own and as a base for other spice flavors such as those others have added in the reviews. You really can't go wrong with this one. I usually season my chicken before I cook it with a little cumin, chili powder, garlic & onion powder, oregano, and s&p. Seems to give it a little more pizazz. Leftovers are good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
The soup was excellent and easy to prepare. I used half of a rotisserie chicken for the meat. Will definitely make this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle S Bogatz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States