Chicken Tortilla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
OMG I made this with quite a few modifications because I didn't have some of the ingredients and it was still AMAZING! Even my husband who doesn't like "brothy, chunky" soups ate a good bowl of it. I can't wait to have more for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte221

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I have been using this recipe for a few years. Really love it just the way it is. Sometimes substitute the black beans for pinto since I always have them on hand. Turkey for chicken, what ever is in the fridge or freezer. Broth or Better than Bullion. Fresh for dry oregano, and dry for fresh cilantro, what ever you have on hand. My favorite cheese is sharp, but use any tasty cheese you have. Add some Jalapenos or hot New Mexico chile, wonderful contrast with sour cream or plain yogurt. Or leave them out for those that do not like heat. Fresh avacado makes for a coolness on top of the hot soup and shouldn't be skipped. The chips add just enough salt and crunch. It is such a beautiful dish with the different colors and so many possible substitutions. It is one of our family favorites, guests rave about it, and coworkers ask for the recipe when they see my leftover lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I've made this twice now and loved it both times, though it isn't quite the flavor I was looking for (like the soups in the restaurants). This is more like a stew. Used hot green chiles for a little spice and love the hominy in this. Since I didn't have anything else to do with the rest of the cans, used 1 whole can of corn and 1 whole can of each. Since the soup doesn't simmer that long, the cilantro is very strong flavored (it doesn't have time to mellow, so if you don't like cilantro, leave it out - tastes just as great without it!). Used 3 chicken breasts (just poached and hand-shredded) and could have even used another. Replaced the water with the broth from poaching the chicken. Pretty quick to throw together with some great flavor! Might throw in a teaspoon of cumin next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I have made this recipe a few times and I love it... I use a tad of cumin... And no Hominy.. Just corn and black beans.. I cut the tortila into strips toast in the oven for a few minutes to top. USe corn not flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I love this soup, very good for a cold, windy day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mom_of_one_picky_kid
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Winning recipe - things I changed like other reviewers - used some chicken I roasted, jalapenos instead of green chiles, cumin (two tsp), added more garlic and cooked it for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom_of_one_picky_kid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockdale, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This soup was delicious! My three year daughter liked it too and she is quite a picky eater. I like foods with a lot of flavor and this soup didn't disappoint. I followed the recommendations of other reviewers to add 2 tsp of cumin, omit the water and use a lot more chicken broth for soupier consistency. I also squeezed in a half of lime - for more flavor and extra tang. I added sour cream to garnish as well. You can't go wring with this one! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I've made this recipe multiple times now and is always delicious. It's easy to make and only modify it by omitting the black beans (only because my fiance does not like them, but I bet it would be even better with them!). I didn't care to add green onions, but you can try it for yourself. I definitely recommend this recipe- tastes just like the mexican restaurants here in AZ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This is the best chicken tortilla soup I have ever made. I use shredded chicken and dried beans with reduced sodium fat free chicken broth. I love the inclusion of the hominy, which I would never have thought of! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Though good, the hominy could be left out of this dish. The up-side of including hominy in this soup is that it helps make more soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,058) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States