Chicken Tortilla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Very Good flavor. I cooked my cubed chicken breast, garlic & onion in the olive oil until chicken was no longer pink & onion was cooked. Then added the chicken broth & spices & cooked for 10 min. I didn't have cilantrol so I added 1/2t cumin. I used all chicken broth (no water). After cooking for 10 min.I added the chilies, 15 oz Hominy, 15 oz canned corn, black beans. I served with Monterey Cheddar cheese, tostitos & sour cream. I also baked corn bread as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tipton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Outstanding! This is probably the most useful recipe I've found on this site. We are not soup eaters at all, but this one is just so hearty. There is no downside to this. It is affordable, healthy, satisfying, easy to make, easily modified to personal preference, and keeps well for days on end. This one may make soup lovers of us afterall! Well done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
My whole family LOVES this recipe. I add about 1/2 cup finely crushed tortilla chips and squeesed in some lime juice. I'm not a big fan of hominy, so I substituted white corn. I cook my chicken all day in the slow cooker and used the broth instead of canned broth and water. I do end up using more broth to thin it out a little. This soup freezes great. I double the batch and freeze several bags to pull out on our busy nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
We liked this recipe well enough. It was suuupper easy to make! Not excited enough about it to make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Mowatt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA
Living In: Poolesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Totally awesome! Very easy to make. I had to make a couple changes because I was out of two things. No tomatoes--used 15 oz of tomato sauce instead. Also out of chili powder--used 1 tsp each of hot sauce and paprika instead. Can't wait to try it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
My husband and I didn't care for this. It was to spicy for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I love this, my husband loves it, and my kids love it! I use green chili (from here in south west Colorado) with only a quarter of the onion. I use more hominy and I put it all the items needing to be cooked in the crockpot on high for five hours if I'll be home. If not, I put it on low for nine hours. Love this during the winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This is by far one of the best recipes I have made!!! the flavor was so on point! My whole family loved it! They said I can make this anytime! what I loved about it was that it was simple...I made a double batch. the only thing I changed was I used chicken stock instead of broth for more added flavor and I just let it simmer longer for all the flavors to come together!!! I would recomend this to anyone!! ENJOY! P.S. there was nothing left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I stumbled across this recipe when I was looking for a chicken dish. I love love love this recipe. I ended up omitting the hominy since I do not care for it. I already had roasted Hatch chillies on hand and opted to use my own rather than a can of chillies the recipe called for. I think the roasted Hatch chillies gave the recipe a little bit of a kick (which I enjoyed since I love spicy food). I would recommend this recipe to anyone. Extremely easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
My family of husband and young men raved about this soup! I did make changes only due to what I had on hand. I followed the recipe exactly until it came to the black beans. I thought I had some but the cupboard was bare. I had some leftover Texas beans from this site, so I tossed them in, also some leftover refried beans! I didn't have cilantro or avocados. It was very easy and delicious! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,062) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States