Chicken Tortilla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Delicious recipe as is! I substituted shredded chicken however because that is what I had and I like shredded better. Perfect for a cool fall evening or winter night! Will definitely be making this again and again! Add a dollop of sour cream on top for perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
After reading reviews, I replaced water with chicken stock and added extra spice...still quite bland. Needs lots more salt and spices. Once added, and put all toppings on, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
darn good recipe, tried hominy for the first time that I know of, love it. Who wouldn't want more corn tortilla flavor in their soup? I pretty much followed JennnAnthomy's most helpful review instructions. I dug the addition of the cumin. The avacado is an absolute must, don't skip that. You can cream this recipe up too by adding heavy cream, halfnhalf or even 2% milk. Good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam Kurtz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
So, at first I did follow the recipe exactly. After the soup had finished simmering, I did a taste test and made some additions: I added ground cumin, lime juice and 1 can of Rotel. For me, this was GREAT!!! The next day, I did have to add some extra chicken broth and tasted even better. I used the recommended garnishes plus sour cream. VERY GOOD!!! I would highly recommend tasting before serving and add what you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thomas
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Very yummo and easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I added a few things to the recipe I added Cumin, California Chili Powder, I blended some tortillas with broth and added it to diced carrots celery onions garlic and jalapeño.. Added more warmed chicken broth salt pepper to taste added a can of crushed tomatoes cooked added also chicken breast and thigh meat shredded at the end added cilantro simmer on low.. I added roasted frozen corn kernels and rinsed black beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Best Tortilla Soup I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I made this with a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store. It was awesome and the chicken shortened cooking time. Very tasty! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I tried this and it was pretty good. In fact we added it to our Monday Soup/sandwich/and dessert menu!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanantonian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kewanna, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
The recipe is a good base recipe, and with a few changes the soup itself is worth 5 stars. Like other reviewers, we added quite a bit more seasoning and used all broth (homemade) and no water. We also omitted the hominy, using corn instead and used roasted Anaheims instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Morrows

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,062) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States