Chicken Tortilla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
We all loved it!!!! It tasted just like we went out to eat but I left out oregano and added the cumin instead. I also let it simmer for about an hour, I will define tilt make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Emas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
We make this soup quite often, especially in the winter. Its absolutely amazing, especially the next day. I try to use a whole chicken that I cook in broth, 2-3 garlic cloves & couple sprigs of cilantro. Then I strain the broth and use it for the soup. I found that using a whole chicken gives it a better flavor due to the dark meat and it being simmered for about 2 hrs in the broth. I double the recipe, but still only use 1 can of green chili peppers. I add 1-2 tbs lime juice to it. At times I have to add salt, although this is one recipe, that hardly needs any salt! I only use fresh cilantro and pull the leaves off the stems (I do not like the tough stems) and then gently chop them. Its simple and feeds quite a lot of people. I serve with shredded cheese and toasted tortillas that I cut into strips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mackiemack

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
We love this soup. We always make a double batch and it's usually gone within a few days. We have fine-tuned this recipe based on reviews by others and our own preferences, with the following adjustments: (1) if doubling, use a whole 2- to 3-pound rotisserie chicken picked clean (instead of chicken breasts); (2) skip the oregano, replace with equal amount of freshly ground cumin seed (lightly toast the seeds in a heavy skillet before grinding); (3) the recipe is on the thick side, so add up to 2x the chicken broth to achieve more of a soup consistency; (4) after simmering, before serving, add 2T lime juice (4T if doubling).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I love the recipe. I used leftover chicken that was originally made for chicken tacos. Also I could not find hominy. Followed the recipe otherwise. Shared with my mother and she still raves about it. She usually tells me what I need to change when I use her recipes but this time she actually asked for mine. It's a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Love this recipe! I first made it according to the recipe, but I have learned that we prefer to leave out the oregano and hominy, add a bit of cumin, Ro-tel, and carrots. We prefer to load this soup up with the meat from two roasted chickens and scoop it onto some Tositos "Hint of Lime" chips. Our favorite soup :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carwile2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
LOVE!! My 2yr old couldn't get enough of it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I good basic recipe that you can easily tweak to fit your own tastes. Read the most helpful reviews for some great tips on improving this recipe. I tried chick peas instead of hominy-won't use them next time too crunchy. I do strongly suggest using fresh corn when in season not that time consuming to take it off the cob and taste is awesome. Do watch how much green onions you add at the end-they overpower the flavors. Don't tell anyone( I am Wisconsin born) but the cheese made this soup too rich for me. I did squeeze fresh time over this soup before eating and next time wont use the tortilla strips-they got soggy fast and didn't add much flavor. Again use the flavors and ingredients you enjoy when making this and you will be sure to love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
This soup is my favorite Chicken Tortilla ever. One way to make it much easier is to first make the Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken, then use the leftovers for this soup! The chicken is already shredded and seasoned for you, and tastes excellent in this soup. The hominy really adds texture and taste. I wasn't familiar with it before this, and now I'm a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This is a pretty good basic soup. Try it; you'll like it. And, as with most soups, you can "improve" on it by tasting, then adding your own spice/ingredient preferences. However, if you are tentative about making soup, just go with the recipe as provided and eat it all up. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Great with Pheasant Meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,066) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States