Chicken Tortilla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Very good and so easy to make in the crock pot. My husband is incredibly picky and he, not only are it for dinner, but took it for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I LOVE this soup. Yes, it's thick, but that's the way I like it. I made it just as written many times. To make it faster I cut up the chicken add 2 Tbs of olive oil and brown it in a stock pot. Then I add the onion. Once everything is in the pot, I simmer it for an hour. If you want to spice it up replace the tomatoes with a can of tomatoes and chiles and a can of fire roasted tomatoes. It's the best thing for a cold, it beats the heck out of regular chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I made this recipe almost to the letter, i just left out the hominy. My husband said, "you can make that chicken tortilla soup stuff agaun anytime you want." That means "keeper" in this house! The avocado and cilantro topping is a must. Gives it that little extra something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I personally left out the corn, hominy, and black beans. My family loved this soup, but it needed much more broth to make it soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Gardner
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
LOVE,love,love this tortilla soup receipe! I originally found it years ago and unfortunately lost it but then found it again on the spinner app. Everyone in my family loves it, even the kids. This is the best receipe I've tried. You can't go wrong with this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
AMAZING!! Great flavor:D Very soothing as well! Having it today for the second time;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
So yummy and easy! I don't usually like soup much but I are almost this entire batch myself in just a few days!! Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This was too "tomato-y" and not at all spicy so I added another cup of chicken broth, another teaspoon of chili powder, a teaspoon of cayenne pepper and a good sprinkle of creole seasoning, southwest seasoning, salt & pepper. I added shredded cheese, green onions, sour cream & crushed tortilla chips on top. It was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I'm not much of a cook but we gotta eat. This is my favorite soup and maybe the best recipe I have found on here. I tend to customize for what I have rather than buying unusual items. I leave out hominy since I'm not a fan and I use canned corn because I'm lazy. If you like spicy I've found that subbing a couple cans of Ro-Tel for the crushed tomatoes and the dice green peppers works to give it a tiny bit more kick. I've made it both ways and we prefer spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I tried this tonight and wow, we loved it! I had leftover pork roast and some turkey broth that I needed to use, added the rest of the ingredients and it was so scrumptious! I will make it again because it is healthy, easy and fast to make. I added some cumin and coriander simply because I love them. Appreciate your website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,058) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States