Chicken Tortilla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I just wanted to say that I did everything except the corn, hominy, black beans, and green chilies. I also used a teaspoon of cumin, extra 1/4 cup chopped cilantro and chicken broth I obtained from boiling the chicken breasts. I also used pepper jack because of the lack of green chilies. It came out perfect, better than a restaurant. A dash of pepper too cause I am a Texan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Made it a one pot recipe by cooking the chicken with the oil, garlic, chili powder and oregano then dumped everything else in. Love the flavor! I added cumin because I like the flavor but still great without it. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I made this for my family (7 of us) the other night. I used a can of whole kernel corn (drained), added 1 tsp cumin, and also served it with sour cream to make it a tad creamy. This recipe does make a thick chili-like recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Not many recipes get 5 stars as-is, but this one nailed it. My changes were really just not measuring most of my things; I used a full can of hominy, a leftover bowl of corn that was probably a can's worth, and Better than Boullion with the tomato can full of water (which was roughly 3.5 cups). Oh, and I didn't have chile peppers, but didn't miss them. As it was simmering, I kept tasting it, expecting it to need a little something, but it never did. The only thing I noticed is that it does come out pretty thick as is. It doesn't look all that thick in the pot, but if you don't thin it out a little, and then add tortilla strips and a little shredded cheese, it thickens up to a stew consistency immediately. So I added another couple cups of water until it felt right. And the family is even eating the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonganoxie, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Great flavor, used Tyson Steak strips 1-21-14
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Very good and so easy to make in the crock pot. My husband is incredibly picky and he, not only are it for dinner, but took it for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I LOVE this soup. Yes, it's thick, but that's the way I like it. I made it just as written many times. To make it faster I cut up the chicken add 2 Tbs of olive oil and brown it in a stock pot. Then I add the onion. Once everything is in the pot, I simmer it for an hour. If you want to spice it up replace the tomatoes with a can of tomatoes and chiles and a can of fire roasted tomatoes. It's the best thing for a cold, it beats the heck out of regular chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I made this recipe almost to the letter, i just left out the hominy. My husband said, "you can make that chicken tortilla soup stuff agaun anytime you want." That means "keeper" in this house! The avocado and cilantro topping is a must. Gives it that little extra something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I personally left out the corn, hominy, and black beans. My family loved this soup, but it needed much more broth to make it soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Gardner
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,054) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States