Chicken Tortilla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by Tiff
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
like the ingredients and recipe trail to the final ending point. Like any other recipe on here, you typically have to adjust to your taste. I used a little less than a 1/4 cup of cilantro, added more water because like other suggested really thick, used less chicken broth, added half cup more corn, did not use hominy at all and replaced oregano with cumin. I also added a like 1 tablespoon of sugar, some additional garlic and some black pepper to bring it all together. I topped with a few zesty tortilla chips and a little sour cream. My 4 year old and husband both loved! 4 stars because I had to tweak to bring out the flavors in the background. Will definitely make again, and will make a larger pot next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiff

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I doubled the chilli powder and actually made it with left-over turkey we had in the fridge. The entire family (none of which like soup but me) LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made this recipe as is and didn't care much for it at all. It was lacking the right kind of flavor and had too much of a tomato taste to it. I've thought about what I'd change for the next go round, but I honestly can't put my finger on what it was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devilstonic

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
My whole family loved this soup! It is thick and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Even my husband loved this! I added pinto beans and black beans and used green salsa. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
So easy! Didn't have hominy, so omitted. My kids all liked it, which is rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Yum, this totally won me over. MORE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Great soup! DH and I ate it quickly ate it all up! I substituted cumin for the oregano. I also added a little more chicken broth so it wasn't so thick. DH wanted it a little spicier so we added cayenne pepper to taste. This one is definitely going in the recipe book! :) Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This was so good everybody liked it and it was the first time I have ever made this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Very good and easy recipe! Loved IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,082) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States