Chicken Tortilla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
This soup is my favorite Chicken Tortilla ever. One way to make it much easier is to first make the Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken, then use the leftovers for this soup! The chicken is already shredded and seasoned for you, and tastes excellent in this soup. The hominy really adds texture and taste. I wasn't familiar with it before this, and now I'm a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This is a pretty good basic soup. Try it; you'll like it. And, as with most soups, you can "improve" on it by tasting, then adding your own spice/ingredient preferences. However, if you are tentative about making soup, just go with the recipe as provided and eat it all up. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Great with Pheasant Meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Not enough "kick". Really good after I added a can of enchilada sauce (hot), more Chile powder and some cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammye Doyle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcalester, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
So good! Family Fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZombieHuntress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Excellent and easy to make. It does make a huge batch though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This soup is awesome- everyone loved it! The only changes I made were adding more chicken broth (with all the yummy garnishes it just seemed too thick) and adding jalapeno and hot sauce (the garnishes balanced out the "heat" very well). Thanks for sharing this recipe- I'm sure I will be making it regularly for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Loved It!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Good starter recipe. I boiled the chicken and used the broth from the boiled Chicken instead of chicken stock. I added salt as well. There are a lot of ways you can make this soup to your liking. Thanks for the recipe. It's a good starting point for a quick and easy soup .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I have been making a double recipe of this, exactly as written, at least once a month for almost a year now. My husband loves it, and the leftovers freeze great!!! I freeze the leftovers in individual serving size containers, and he takes them for lunch to work almost every day. He gets a little tired of it every 3-4 weeks, but then after only one week of different lunches he asks for it again! Even with all my experience making this recipe, I have never felt a need to alter the recipe. However, since chicken breasts are so much more expensive than whole chickens and since when the meat is in a soup even my white-meat-loving husband can't tell the difference, I use a whole chicken when doubling the recipe. I make it easy by putting a 4-5 pound chicken in some water in the crockpot on low for about 6-8 hours (this also makes great broth for the soup!), then when the first ingredients are simmering I strain the fresh broth into the soup and I remove the bones and shred all the chicken to add to the soup. This is easy to do after slow-cooking, even if you're clueless about how to take apart whole chickens, because it's falling off the bones and the pieces don't matter because you're using all the meat anyway. Try this-- it's way cheaper than chicken breasts and the crockpot makes it easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States