Chicken Tortilla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
After about a year of looking over this recipe, I finally decided to make it. I read and re-read most of the reviews. From there a made a few small variations. Like most, I opted out of the oregeno and used cumin instead. I also added ancho pepper for a nice kick on the back end. I substituted water for strictly broth,using 4 cups in all. Finally, I diced onions, green peppers, garlic and green chiles, placed them in a small amount of olive oil and sauteeed. I added my chicken (seasoned with salt and pepper) and broth and let cook until chicken was perfectly tender. After reading the reviews, I decided to combine the broth, corn, tomatoes (I used Rotel), chiles, black beans and seasonings in a stock pot and let boil until my chicken was finished. Garnished with cheese, avacado, green onions and tortilla chips; my husband and children LOVED it! This is definitely a house favorite now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This is a good base recipe but like many other reviewers, I had to make several modifications which is why I can't rate it higher than 3. Here are some changes. Omit oregano. Add 2 tsp cumin. Double the chili powder, corn, diced green chilis and black beans. Add salt and pepper and dash of cayenne to taste. Shred chicken instead of cubing. Cook at least an hour before serving. Day two is even better so good to make a day before you plan to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I would shred the chicken next time I make this, and I did also substitute the hominy for an extra cup of corn. Otherwise it was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Excellent dish, and a crowd pleaser. I fried tortilla strips to add to the top, and added two jalapenos to the soup to give it just the right amount of kick. Very popular at my dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I did mine in the crock pot - delicious. Sear the chicken before putting it in so it stays juicy. I also sautéed the onion before putting it in too. My only change to the recipe was a bouillon cube with 2 cups of water instead of the condensed chicken broth. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
It was so yummy!!! Will be making this often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Very Good flavor. I cooked my cubed chicken breast, garlic & onion in the olive oil until chicken was no longer pink & onion was cooked. Then added the chicken broth & spices & cooked for 10 min. I didn't have cilantrol so I added 1/2t cumin. I used all chicken broth (no water). After cooking for 10 min.I added the chilies, 15 oz Hominy, 15 oz canned corn, black beans. I served with Monterey Cheddar cheese, tostitos & sour cream. I also baked corn bread as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tipton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Outstanding! This is probably the most useful recipe I've found on this site. We are not soup eaters at all, but this one is just so hearty. There is no downside to this. It is affordable, healthy, satisfying, easy to make, easily modified to personal preference, and keeps well for days on end. This one may make soup lovers of us afterall! Well done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
My whole family LOVES this recipe. I add about 1/2 cup finely crushed tortilla chips and squeesed in some lime juice. I'm not a big fan of hominy, so I substituted white corn. I cook my chicken all day in the slow cooker and used the broth instead of canned broth and water. I do end up using more broth to thin it out a little. This soup freezes great. I double the batch and freeze several bags to pull out on our busy nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
We liked this recipe well enough. It was suuupper easy to make! Not excited enough about it to make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Mowatt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA
Living In: Poolesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,088) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States