Chicken Tortilla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I tried this tonight and wow, we loved it! I had leftover pork roast and some turkey broth that I needed to use, added the rest of the ingredients and it was so scrumptious! I will make it again because it is healthy, easy and fast to make. I added some cumin and coriander simply because I love them. Appreciate your website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geneva Greer Pratt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
excellent and easy to prepare. My soup was a little thin so I added a little cornstarch to thicken it up. Otherwise, perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I think 2 teaspoons of chili powder is WAY too much! Both my husband and son prefer spicy hot, but 2 teaspoons rendered the soup inedible even to them. The inclusion of the corn, hominy, black beans, and green chills made the soup heavy, and unbalanced. I remade the recipe a second time with delicious success with the following changes: I used only 3/4 teaspoon of chile powder, and 3/4 cup of corn. I completely omitted the hominy, black beans, green chiles. The result was a delightful, well balanced soup, that was happily devoured by my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Delicious!!!! I sautéed a fresh jalapeño with onions and garlic for some extra kick. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
GREAT SOUP! - as a Mexican, I know the tortilla soup (and love it) but I have never tried one with all these ingredients (no beans, corn or hominy in a tortilla soup, at least from where I am from!) BUT I overlooked that fact and I thought the ingredients were a good mix. I decided to give it a try and once you get over all the prep work (chopping onions is always a chore for me) it's pretty easy to make. I didn't have a large enough pot so I used one to cook the onions and garlic and mix the first ingredients (step 1) and bring it to a boil. Then I moved the soup to my slow cooker and added the rest of the ingredients. I let it cook at low temp for a while and it turned out delicious! Since I am mexican, we add lime to mostly all soups so I added some to my plate and it was yummy. Great recipe, will try again for sure! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
loved this recipe. hubby had seconds the kiddo's actually liked it. followed the recipe as is. pretty yummy adding this to our menu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I've been making this recipe for years and know it by heart. It's so yummy that I've become really picky eating tortilla soup in restaurants because there's always something missing. This has all the right ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I have to give this recipe at least three stars because I did follow some of the ingredients per all the other reviews I read on here. I did change the amount of chili powder to 4 tsp., I added the taco seasoning. I used great value; taste just like old el paso, I omitted the hominy beans, and oregano. I substituted the condensed chicken broth to 4 cups of chicken stock or broth. I added a capful of white cooking wine, added diced red and green pepper (as I've seen used in most chicken tort soup recipes), added the 2 tsp. of cumin and this soup was absolutely delicious. Topped with fresh cilantro, hint of lime juice, diced avocado, and sour cream. I also cut up some corn tortillas and fried my own strips. Outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This was great. Tasty, just enough spice, thick consistency. I did not add black beans and added a little bit of lime juice for personal preference. Definitely a keep for me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Great soup for a cold night, with some cornbread and apple crisp for dessert. I did roasted cumin also rather than the oregano. Perfect fall meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLCPRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States