Chicken Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I used the dumpling recipe in my own chicken stew last night and they are terrific! Unlike many other dumpling recipes, these are very light and not wet and dense. I will never use the biscuit mix or refrigerator biscuits again as these are so easy there's no need. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
Just what I was looking for. Tasts just like my Mother used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mc Clave, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ely, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Awesome! I added a touch of chicken bouillon and some garlic salt but I'm not sure I needed it. I used three leg quarters and a little white meat I had left over from a chicken I had made a few days before. What a great, comforting meal to have on a cold winter day...or any other day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
YUM! I used about 2 cups of pre-cooked, frozen, diced chicken breasts that I keep on hand for recipes just like this. And I used 32 oz of Chicken Stock and then about another 16 oz of chicken broth because that is what I had on hand. It turns it into a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This was my first attempt at making chicken & dumplings and my wife &[ I thought it was terrific. As others did, I increased the water by about a cup and added two boullion cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
First time to make it and it was declared "a keeper." My kids ages 6 and 8 loved it. I did this in two parts: first night I boiled the chicken and let it cool in the fridge. Next day I skimmed the fat and heated the broth. Added 5 tsp chicken base to broth. While broth heated, I cut the veggies and added to broth, then while that heated, I deboned the chicken; it went really fast, then added to broth. While that heated I made dumplings. Took 1-1/2 hours the first night, then about 45 mins for the second half. The base made the stew flavorful. Used fresh carrots sliced 1/4" thick, fresh celery and onion, and 1/2-bag of frozen soup veggies. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Although I didn't follow the recipe, this turned out awesome. I had a cooked rotisserie chicken that I cut up instead of starting with raw chicken. I used chicken broth instead of water and left out the peas and potatoes. The dumplings were soooo good. I also added maybe 1/4 cup fat free half and half mixed with 1 T. cornstarch to thicken it up a little. This will be the recipe I use from now on. Or at least a guide.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I must've read about 20 recipes all calling for premade biscuit mix, self rising flour, etc...before coming across this one and it was Exactly what I was looking for, just like my mom used to make =) light and fluffy and very flavorful Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I felt the same way about dumplings until I made this recipe several years ago. I've made it several times since and I really like it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Excellent recipe...DH went back for a second huge helping! I scaled it down for 4 servings and changed it just a tad because I had leftover cooked chicken breasts I needed to use up. So rather than "making" the broth, I used 2 1/2 cups of chicken broth, 2 1/2 tbsp of flour mixed with water and added the cooked chicken at the end. A great meal for a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States