Chicken Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This dish made my soul smile! It was perfect for a dreary, rainy day. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This turned out to be very good. I made some changes. I omitted the potatoes and celery. I added a can of cream of celery, and 2 cans of cream of chicken. I thicken it with some cornstarch. I made double the dumplings recipe. My husband's friend who claimed that he didn't particularly care for chicken and dumplings absolutely loved it. this had definately replaced my old recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msghd
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This was really good! Taking the advice from other reviews I used chicken leg quarters and made this in a slow cooker. I cooked the chicken with a diced onion in the water with some spices for 3 hours on high. I shredded the chicken and returned it to the pot with the veggies I had on hand and a little bit more spices for 1 hour. I then dropped the dumplings in and cooked for 45 minutes more. They came out a little mushy so I'll try this on the stovetop next time. I think I'll also add a little cornstarch to thicken the broth up a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msghd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Absolutely delicious! Did make some changes though. Used 5 cups chicken stock and cooked three boneless/skinless breasts in the slow cooker for four hours. Removed and shredded the chicken, skimmed all the fat from the broth and transferred this to a large dutch oven. Added all veggies (omitted peas just b/c I didn't have them on hand) and added about 1/4 cup fresh parsley to the broth. Simmered for about 40 minutes till everything was tender. Then added dumplings (did not use parsley in them). Reduced till very little broth remained and added more at the end to obtain the desired consistency. This recipe was easy, inexpensive, and got rave reviews from me and my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Freynik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This is an amazing recipe! Even my pickiest eater devoured it. I did change up the broth by adding 2 bay leaves, 1tbs. chicken broth granules, and 2 whole garlic cloves. We will definitely be making this regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Soup is good. but I would skip the peas. would be better as a chicken noodle soup. I added noodles, and skipped the celery. will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This was very good! I did however make a few changes after reading other reviews. I omitted the potatoes because I agree that the dumplings are enough starch. I added garlic to the veggies and I also added two 14 1/2 oz cans of chicken broth to the stew while it simmered because if I hadn't it would have been way to think. Oh yeah and I only used about half the amount of peas! After the very first bite my husbands face lit up and he said,"Wow this is awesome babe!" Enough said :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gloucester City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This stew was delicious. My husband would like to give it six stars...but that's not possible. I stuck closely to the recipe...adding 3/4 cup more water to the broth after adding vegetables. I tried cream in the dumplings initially. The prescribed amount was not enough and the dough was much too crumbly.I added another 1/4 cup milk, which brought the dough to thick wet consistency that seemed appropriate. It turned out great! It tastes so fresh...and without the overwhelming sodium taste you get with canned or restaurant chicken soup. We used frozen peas and carrott medley, rather than fresh carrotts. That worked well, and was a bit less work. The left overs had soaked up much of the broth, and were very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TishaParrott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Kansas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was a very good chicken with dumplings.. I was impressed because i am very picky about them.I did find there was not enough liquid and I think it will cook for a little less time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jefners3

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States