Chicken Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This stew was delicious! This was my first time making chicken and dumplings. I used some of the suggestios of other users and it turned out great! First, I cooked the chicken in the crock pot for about three hours with the onion, some spices, and some chicken boullion (I get the jelly stuff, it's like a condensed stock so it has no MSG). I added an extra cup of water. It probably could have used more, I guess it depends how much liquid you want at the end. The rest of the stew I made on the stove. I omitted the potatoes, and I'm glad I did because it would have been too starchy. The dumplings make it very filling! I was tempted to thicken the broth with some corn starch, but I decided to wait until I added the dumplings to see how it looked. I'm glad I didn't thicken it. The starch from the dumplings made it a perfect consitencey, it would have been too thick if I had added corn starch. The only other mistake I made was I made the dumplings too big! I didn't realize how much they grew in the water, so they turned into little baseballs! They still cooked fine and tasted great, they were just huge. I know next time to make them smaller. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa Forbes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I couldn't find my normal recipe for dumplings. After searching thru all the wonderful chicken and dumplings here, I tried these. My husband and children (5) couldn't stop raving about the dumplings, light and fluffy. I actually had to make a second batch of dumplings on the stew after they ate them all. I am making them again tonight and they will now take the place of the recipe I've used for 15 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This dish made my soul smile! It was perfect for a dreary, rainy day. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This turned out to be very good. I made some changes. I omitted the potatoes and celery. I added a can of cream of celery, and 2 cans of cream of chicken. I thicken it with some cornstarch. I made double the dumplings recipe. My husband's friend who claimed that he didn't particularly care for chicken and dumplings absolutely loved it. this had definately replaced my old recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msghd
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This was really good! Taking the advice from other reviews I used chicken leg quarters and made this in a slow cooker. I cooked the chicken with a diced onion in the water with some spices for 3 hours on high. I shredded the chicken and returned it to the pot with the veggies I had on hand and a little bit more spices for 1 hour. I then dropped the dumplings in and cooked for 45 minutes more. They came out a little mushy so I'll try this on the stovetop next time. I think I'll also add a little cornstarch to thicken the broth up a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msghd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Absolutely delicious! Did make some changes though. Used 5 cups chicken stock and cooked three boneless/skinless breasts in the slow cooker for four hours. Removed and shredded the chicken, skimmed all the fat from the broth and transferred this to a large dutch oven. Added all veggies (omitted peas just b/c I didn't have them on hand) and added about 1/4 cup fresh parsley to the broth. Simmered for about 40 minutes till everything was tender. Then added dumplings (did not use parsley in them). Reduced till very little broth remained and added more at the end to obtain the desired consistency. This recipe was easy, inexpensive, and got rave reviews from me and my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Freynik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This is an amazing recipe! Even my pickiest eater devoured it. I did change up the broth by adding 2 bay leaves, 1tbs. chicken broth granules, and 2 whole garlic cloves. We will definitely be making this regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Soup is good. but I would skip the peas. would be better as a chicken noodle soup. I added noodles, and skipped the celery. will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This was very good! I did however make a few changes after reading other reviews. I omitted the potatoes because I agree that the dumplings are enough starch. I added garlic to the veggies and I also added two 14 1/2 oz cans of chicken broth to the stew while it simmered because if I hadn't it would have been way to think. Oh yeah and I only used about half the amount of peas! After the very first bite my husbands face lit up and he said,"Wow this is awesome babe!" Enough said :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gloucester City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States