Chicken Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This is one of my favorite recipes I've made this year. I kept all the spices and ratios the same, but I made a couple changes to make this easier and faster. I used chicken breast since that was all I had, and simmered it until cooked in chicken broth. I then shredded the chicken, added the spices and veggies (minus the potatoes because as others have said it doesn't need more carbs), then simmered for another 20 minutes. Then I added and cooked the dumplings. This was SO GOOD and SO EASY. And the leftovers are absolutely fantastic! Note, it was looking a little bit thin and soupy, but the addition of the dumplings thickens up the sauce very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I really liked this recipe. Very flavorful and I loved the dumplings. I have made it just as written and also using a rotisserie chicken and stock for a short cut and both are very tasty. Definately a keeper! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noemi - No way is she a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Living In: Paramount, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
The recipe is fine as written. It's good old fashioned stew and dumplings just like I've made for years. How can anyone say they "tweaked" a recipe by replacing the home cooked chicken with a precooked grocery store chicken and the homemade dumplings with Bisquick? That made the recipe great? Seriously?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTYMCNAMARA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Cowichan, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I have five kids that dont do stews or soups to well,but this was incredible. They loved it. I defenitely will be making this again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Ok, I followed the recipe exactly *except* I used dried parsley instead of fresh b/c I didn't have fresh. I turned out absolutely wonderful!! I'm SO excited! The dumplings are much more like biscuits then dumplings, but still fabulous! I might try reducing the milk, next time, to get a more dense "dumpling" texture. I will probably trade off between that and the biscuit style dumplings. Very satisfied. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Warm and comforting recipe. We took the advice of another reviewer and left out the potatoes. We also added some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Very good (and simple) recipes. I had doubled the recipe so that I could add dumplings on the left overs. Please note: make sure you add additional liquid the following day if you have left overs. The dumplings will soak it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladylock
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Excellent! I posted a photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladylock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Loved it, with or without the dumplings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Yummmmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States