Chicken Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I agree that you need more liquid. I put 4 cups of veg broth and 3 cups of water, put onion, carrots, and celery in with the chicken, as well as a large clove of chopped garlic. I did thicken the broth with cornstarch mixed with cold water. The biscuits were very soft and delicious, however i felt they needed more seasoning. I used dried parsley and can see how fresh would have kicked it up a notch. All in all very yummy. I especially enjoyed the peas in the mix. I think corn might be good to use next time. My husband thought he would like it better with potatoes, which I did not put in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Well, first and foremost, whoever said this recipe would take an hour and 45 minutes to complete is full of bull honkey. I consider myself a pretty efficient cook, but because I relied on the 'Ready In' time, my husband went to bed without dinner after a 14 hour work day. I'm not too happy about that. As far as the quality of the dish, I am pleased. This is a very hearty, thick chicken stew and the homemade dumplings are a nice touch, albeit a little bland. I followed the recipe almost exactly with the exception of using chicken broth instead of water to simmer my chicken in, and I heaped the basil and thyme. I did not use potatoes due to personal preference....seems weird to have potatoes and dumplings together, especially since they look similar too. After I boiled my chicken, I used two forks to shred the meat, like you'd do with pulled pork, and I found this to be easier than trying to dice it all. This recipe would benefit from the addition of ground white pepper, but I couldn't find mine. For presentation, add a slice of steamed lemon and a criss-crossed sprig of fresh rosemary. I will make this again on a cold day, but if and only if I have some serious time to spare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Amazing stew. Easy to make. I love it. I never could get chicken/turkey stew right until I used this recipe. I usually boil what's left of a chicken or turkey carcass instead of using just the thighs/wings it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Delicious! My family enjoyed this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I took a couple of shortcuts (pre-made broth) but otherwise followed the instructions. This was a perfect cold winter dinner. Not too heavy, very comforting, and the dumplings were delicious (though I might add some scallions for a little zing next time). Next time I might make the stew a day ahead as it was definitely tastier on the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by waipio2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Light ant fluffy dumplings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ND COURSE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eagleville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Soooo Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Great recipe! I used chicken breast instead of thighs or legs and it was delicious! It is well worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I cut the recipe down to 4 servings, used 2 chicken breasts and added some bouillon (as suggested), other than that I followed the recipe and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Loved this recipe, thanks! The only change I made was that I used breasts instead of thighs, also used lima beans instead of peas only because that is what I had on hand. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States