Chicken Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I usually hate it when people change a recipe and then rate it, but I didn't have bone-in thighs, so I used boneless and added them to a ready made chicken broth instead of making my own broth with the bones. I simmered it for about a half hour, and then added the veggies. It worked out wonderfully! I did everything else the same. It was for some reason much better than my regular chicken soup. Even the picky 5 year old ate everything in her bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Delicious!I really impressed my husband on the first try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Edible, but just. The peas commanded the flavor of the dish. Very disappointed. I'll look further for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tattoogrl13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sutherlin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Excellent. Hearty, comforting and healthy. I substituted white meat for dark, soy milk for cow milk due to allergies, and added some Trader Joe's chicken broth packets for extra flavor. Wonderful, a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I have made this twice now. The first time with everything here just as it says and we loved every bite. The second time I made it I used almond milk and Smart Balance light with EVOO. They were just perfect. I also didn't have thyme, as I couldn't find it until later (on the floor due to the spices falling out of my cabinet, slick!). I added sage, rosemary, garlic, along with the basil instead. It was great also. I would recommend this recipe. I would like to give recognition to the dumplings which are to die for! I am a big fan. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avia16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This is delicious. I have a picky 5 year old that enjoyed it just as much as the rest of us. I did add basil into the dumplings and I forgot to add the peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clay City, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Very good. Will make again, but adding chicken bullion to the water while chicken is cooking for additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katswirlz
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This was delicious! I especially loved the dumplings. Thank you for posting this recipe. It's much better than how I made it before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolshmarol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly (I did leave out the onion ) and it was delicious, but perhaps I left the heat on too high because I had to keep adding chicken broth and water! Make sure you've got enough liquid when you add the dumplings, because you can't stir it again until they're cooked - the bottom of my pan burned. Next time I'll simmer on low heat and make sure I have plenty of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Falula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Very good recipe, don't know what I did wrong but thought it was supposed to thicken after adding the dumplings but it didn't. Taste was great and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamaraDonn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States