Chicken Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
My family lovessss this meal!! I change up the vegetables each time I prepare it. Doesn't matter. ... My Comfort food! This dish is ALWAYS requested by my daughter when she comes home from college. My daughters only complaint. ... I don't make enough DUMPLINGS! LOL. .. Thank you sooo much for this WONDERFUL recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabrielle26

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I've been using this recipe every winter for the last 5 years, so as I pull it up yet again I thought it due time to put my 2 cents in! I use a whole chicken as I like the combination of white and dark meet, add water as it boils down and finish by adding 16-32 oz of chicken broth. I found in the past if I did not add broth, it really lacked in salt and I hated to watch people go after it with the salt shaker! (I just read the chicken bouillon idea which I'll try this year.) I always add more celery and carrots, probably double. And I always double the dumplings! Who ever said they had too many dumplings in their chicken n dumplings?! Other than that, is basically the same. I love the thyme and feel it is a key ingredient to the recipe. I love the soup base with the doughy remnants of the dumplings, especially after it sits a while! This always makes a TOM for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
You know it is one of the best meals I have ever made. I never put potatoes in it and no peas, but it is for sure a repeat meal!!!! In fact it is cooking right now!!! And I always have to double the recipes for the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by memoriesinprint

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I love this recipe. The only things I do differently is that I use chicken broth instead of water, a whole chicken, and I use garlic and celery salt in the broth and dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pumpkinnose13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
The stew was only okay (the peas got overcooked), but the dumplings were fantastic. Next time I will just make the chicken stew I normally do and add these dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark & Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I've made this recipe for years, just now taking time to write a review. I first time I made it, it came out wonderful, better than I imagined. Everyone ate it up. I skipped the peas, added fresh thyme, used chicken breasts, wings, in addition the legs. I also left the bones in. It is also a great dish to bring anyone who is sick. I've had several requests to make it for various relatives. The best part was the dumplings on the top with the fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I personally didn't care for this, but my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Made this recipe 5 times, each time with a different vegetable blend and with different cuts of chicken. Always turns out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheCookGood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I cut the recipe in half and used red potatoes, since I was a little fuzzy about what a new potato was. (Are they just little??) Based on the recipe, I thought I would have to add extra herbs or something to perk it up, but it was wonderful as written (and rather pretty too, for a stew!). Looking forward to trying this on my boyfriend! We'll see how it holds up to his grandma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
make this all the time. family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dotlikesred

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacific Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States