Chicken Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
YUM! I used about 2 cups of pre-cooked, frozen, diced chicken breasts that I keep on hand for recipes just like this. And I used 32 oz of Chicken Stock and then about another 16 oz of chicken broth because that is what I had on hand. It turns it into a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I used the dumpling recipe in my own chicken stew last night and they are terrific! Unlike many other dumpling recipes, these are very light and not wet and dense. I will never use the biscuit mix or refrigerator biscuits again as these are so easy there's no need. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
Just what I was looking for. Tasts just like my Mother used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mc Clave, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ely, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Awesome! I added a touch of chicken bouillon and some garlic salt but I'm not sure I needed it. I used three leg quarters and a little white meat I had left over from a chicken I had made a few days before. What a great, comforting meal to have on a cold winter day...or any other day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This was my first attempt at making chicken & dumplings and my wife &[ I thought it was terrific. As others did, I increased the water by about a cup and added two boullion cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
First time to make it and it was declared "a keeper." My kids ages 6 and 8 loved it. I did this in two parts: first night I boiled the chicken and let it cool in the fridge. Next day I skimmed the fat and heated the broth. Added 5 tsp chicken base to broth. While broth heated, I cut the veggies and added to broth, then while that heated, I deboned the chicken; it went really fast, then added to broth. While that heated I made dumplings. Took 1-1/2 hours the first night, then about 45 mins for the second half. The base made the stew flavorful. Used fresh carrots sliced 1/4" thick, fresh celery and onion, and 1/2-bag of frozen soup veggies. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Although I didn't follow the recipe, this turned out awesome. I had a cooked rotisserie chicken that I cut up instead of starting with raw chicken. I used chicken broth instead of water and left out the peas and potatoes. The dumplings were soooo good. I also added maybe 1/4 cup fat free half and half mixed with 1 T. cornstarch to thicken it up a little. This will be the recipe I use from now on. Or at least a guide.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I must've read about 20 recipes all calling for premade biscuit mix, self rising flour, etc...before coming across this one and it was Exactly what I was looking for, just like my mom used to make =) light and fluffy and very flavorful Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I felt the same way about dumplings until I made this recipe several years ago. I've made it several times since and I really like it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Bond Bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Excellent recipe...DH went back for a second huge helping! I scaled it down for 4 servings and changed it just a tad because I had leftover cooked chicken breasts I needed to use up. So rather than "making" the broth, I used 2 1/2 cups of chicken broth, 2 1/2 tbsp of flour mixed with water and added the cooked chicken at the end. A great meal for a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States