Chicken Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This was excellent! The only change I made was using chicken breasts. I did mine in the slow cooker: Cooked frozen chicken with diced onion and chicken broth for 3-4 hours on high. Shredded chicken and returned to the pot with vegetables and spices for about an hour. Then dropped in dumplings and replaced lid for about 45 minutes. All ready to go and absolutely delicious! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This recipe is decent, but for me, still needed some tweaking to make it great. To make it easier, I just bought a rotisserie chicken and cooked that in chicken stock for extra flavor (not the water)- took whole chicken out and shredded the meat and returned it to the soup. Also, there is really no need for potatoes in this recipe since dumplings are already in the soup (unless you are a carb-overloader). I used Bisquick dry mix for the dumplings (followed package directions) and they turned out great! Also used fresh thyme and added some fresh parsley, and the juice of half of a lemon. At the end I put some half and half to add a little creaminess and it makes it perfect. This soup is so delicious and it freezes well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
First time to make it and it was declared "a keeper." My kids ages 6 and 8 loved it. I did this in two parts: first night I boiled the chicken and let it cool in the fridge. Next day I skimmed the fat and heated the broth. Added 5 tsp chicken base to broth. While broth heated, I cut the veggies and added to broth, then while that heated, I deboned the chicken; it went really fast, then added to broth. While that heated I made dumplings. Took 1-1/2 hours the first night, then about 45 mins for the second half. The base made the stew flavorful. Used fresh carrots sliced 1/4" thick, fresh celery and onion, and 1/2-bag of frozen soup veggies. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Suemck
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
The tried and true recipe that I've been using for chicken & dumplings for a few years now has officially been replaced with this one. This dish is absolutely delicious! I used chicken breasts and broth because I didn't have the time to slow cook, and other than that no changes. The dumplings were nice and light and the flavor of the sauce was just perfect. Thanks so much Elizabeth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
This was OUTSTANDING. I can't beleive I only made enough for one night's supper! I made it for 5 servings, and I added 3-cubes chicken bouillon, 1 bay leaf, and 1-1/4 teaspoons dried parsley to the boiling chicken. I also increased the amount of water to 4.5 cups. Then after an hour I added the remaining ingredients in the original recipe except I omitted the salt ( since I used bouillions), I also omitted the onions, and I used frozen corn instead of frozen peas. The dumplings were fantastic,and the entire meal was an absolute hit. I will definitely be making this one again! Man was it good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I use a different recipe for the chicken but the dumplings are great when you substitute buttermilk for regular milk!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenwick, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cantley, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I loved this recipe. This was my first time making stew and I was a bit nervous that it would not thicken up, but once you add the dumplings it becomes stew. I did not change a thing. Everything was fantastic and the dumplings were perfection! Yummy comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LDUDETTE
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
this took me back to my childhood as well. I searched and searched and this recipe looked the best to me. The only variations I made are: I used a whole chicken and added extra water as needed. Next time I think I will just use chicken breasts as I am not a big fan of dark meat. I also used an extra potatoe and carrot. In the dumplings I used some parsley I dried myself. I found this recipe to be everything I expected and more. I plan to freeze some and see how that does too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDUDETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
We really enjoyed this dinner! We basically followed the recipe except I forgot to add the frozen peas, but it was still really good. To save time cooking the chicken, we used inexpensive chicken leg quarters which I separated the legs and thighs and put a slit down the middle of the thighs to get the heat to the center quicker. It saves about a half hour of cooking time. I didn't want it too watery, so I put less water in to begin with, then added water as needed. I think 4-5 cups is a good amount. To thicken the stew a little, I used my potato masher and pressed it into the stew a few times to break up the potatoes a bit and thicken it. Oh, also, I cut the potatoes into cubes, smaller than the recipe called for. Then when it was almost done, I plopped the dumplings on top. The cooking time for the dumplings was very accurate. They came out perfect! Thanks, Elizabeth for this down home comfort food recipe that is not difficult to make. We will definately make this time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Watkins Glen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
this was super good. i was craving chicken stew and dumplings forever and when i found this recipe and had all the ingredients on hand i had to make it for lunch. it was so good. my husband who hates soups/stews loved it too because it was so thick and had 'fun stuff' (the dumplings) in it. this is a definite keeper. i used leftover cooked chicken and store bough chicken stock but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. in the dumplings i substituted a bit of dried parsley instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kimberley, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States